Ranks

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).

Pages

AuthorTopic: Ranks
Shock Trooper
Member # 4214
Profile #0
Why are the required posts for ranks so high? It's a stimulation to spam. In my opinion, the number of required posts for ranks should decrease drastically.

Believe me, although I'm still an apprentice, I can know; I once was a very active member of this forum?
Guess why I was so active.
The only reason why I posted was to increase my post count, while I had absolutely no fun in doing so.

--------------------
I'm not cursed at birth like my Avernum characters, but my birth is my curse.
-The Great Misfit
Apprentice
Member # 4213
Profile #1
We can always ignore the ranks etc., mmmmkay?

--------------------
It came from the Misc Abyss...

Currently breaking my head:
-In Victoria: An Empire under the Sun
-In BoA Editor
-Because of bad weather
Shaper
Member # 22
Profile #2
Do you really think that ranks matter that much? I respect certain people's opinions with low posts counts a hell of a lot more then I do some people with high ones.

Spammers don't spam to get ranks. They spam because they're idiots/eight year olds/self-hating screwed up teenagers with a attention seeking tendancy.

--------------------
KazeArctica: "Imagine...wangs everywhere...and tentacles. Nothing but wangs and tentacles! And no pants!"
Warrior
Member # 4081
Profile #3
I pay more attention to Karma ratings. If someone attains the rank of "your postliness" and has a Karma of 1 or 2, that pretty much says it all. Obviously Karma can still be manipulated by friends (or enemies) but overall is a decent indication of general usefullness.

Just look at Morgan with karma 4 and 36 votes. That means more to me than his Guru status.

[ Tuesday, April 06, 2004 12:12: Message edited by: blueman00 ]
La Canaliste
DELETED
Member # 21