Orb of thralni

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).

Pages

AuthorTopic: Orb of thralni
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #225
quote:
Originally written by Thuryl:

quote:
Originally written by Thralni, emperor of Riverrod:

No. This is the only place i use this flag. It doesn't matter if I go to that place in the outdoors (this script is an outdoor script!) in the very beginning or the very end of the game, I'll always end up in the town, even when its not over day 20.
As usual, the debugging calls print_str() and print_num() are your friends. Pepper your code with them at appropriate places. Print the numbers of relevant flags at points when you suspect they might change. Print different strings in different parts of conditional statements to see what code is being run.

The first thing to do is confirm whether or not flag 100,2 is actually set to 1 before day 20, or whether there's something else going on. And for heaven's sake, make sure you're using a fresh party for these tests -- I don't want to be sent on another wild goose chase because you changed the scenario without starting your party over.



--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #226
OK. I put everywhere these print_str calls, and the script seems to work fine, so I'm now going to concentrate on the situation in the editor. Any things I could look at while doing that?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #227
I solved it.

:D :D :D

Don't ask me how, but I solved it. FINALLY!!

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #228
Actually, now I'm kinda curious as to just what was wrong.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #229
It had to do with the call set_town_visibility and the town hidden field in the town details window. After multiple checking in the editor docs, i finally day the culprit. It appeared I forgot that to hide the toen you set 1 in the town hidden field, and not 0 or -1 or whatever, and while using the call set_town_visibility its exactly the other way around: you use 1 to make it visible and 0 to make it unvisible. Its a very stupid mistake to make, and i made it once before. That's why I don't understand that i made it a second time.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #230
This is just a random question, without any link to my scenario. i was just curious, how come avernum 1 2 and 3 don't have scripts?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #231
Because everything that the scripts would do is hard-coded into the game.

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #232
I suppose there are good books about this, but how does that work (keep it simple, please)? There must be some sort of a script. this programming language must be written somewhere, or is it the thing with which you start the program (in windows the .exe file, the executable)?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #233
Know I have a more urgent question.

I made a script (it works fine, no problem with that), and I want to link it with a terrainscript. To do that, I use the specobj.txt terrainscript that was premade and came with the editor. Now where do I put the script itself? Do I put it in the scenario file or something, or in the town script the terrainscript sits in?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #234
I assume A1-3 work based on something like nodes, like BoE — except that we don't have a scenario editor for them. But if you don't use BoE, that probably means little to you.

Generally, the AT games work like any other application — there's some code that gets compiled and assembled into a bunch of machine language (1's and 0's) that the computer reads and executes when you open the program.

As for your other question: put specobj in your scenario's folder. Place the terrain script with the special tool for placing terrain scripts in the editor. Edit the memory cells as desired.

[ Saturday, August 27, 2005 14:14: Message edited by: Kelandon ]

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #235
But where exactly do I put the scripts to which the specobj terrainscript reffers to? In the scenario .txt file, or the town .txt file, where the particular specobj.txt terainscript sits (so do I put it in the town .txt file, coresponding to the town in which I placed the specobj terrain script?)

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #236
You actually put the file named specobj.txt in the scenario folder. You don't put it in the town or scenario script -- terrain scripts are called separately from these.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #237
No, I mean the SPECIAL NODE you refer to in the memmeroy cell. Where exactly do I put that special node.

Its my fault. I should have said special node, because the place of specobj.txt is obvious.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #238
Ah. Yeah, the state that specobj calls should be a state in the town script. The comments at the top of specobj.txt mention that it's a town state.

[ Sunday, August 28, 2005 00:40: Message edited by: Thuryl ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #239
OK, thanks thuryl. I didn't test it yet, as I'm working really hard on the scenario, and I'm almost constantly changing things. It goes quite fast at the moment. Its also nice that my scripts (in my opinion) are groing better all the time, and they tend to work in the way I want it, in most cases already the first time I test them.

However, There is something I can't find in the docs (or i didn't search to well) and i wanted to ask if one of you guys can help me. I'm looking for a complete character staus list. I couldn't find.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #240
From the Appendices:

Status Types

A status is any temporary condition a character can have. Examples are
blessing, invulnerability, poison, and forcecage. Each status is
represented by a number. Most of the time, each status will be at 0, which
means the character doesn't have it (a non-poisoned character has a poison
status of 0). Statuses are changed by spells, enemy attacks, special
encounters, and similar circumstances.

Below is a list of all the possible statuses. Unless said otherwise, they
can not be negative, and they go down by one per turn. The different
statuses a character can have (and their numbers) are

The complete status list:

0 - Poison. Each turn, game divides the amount of poison the character has by four (rounded up), does 1-2 points of damage that many times, and reduces the poison level by that amount.
1 - Bless/Curse. If positive, character is blessed. If negative, cursed.
2 - Shield/Weaken. If positive, character is shielded. If negative, weakened.
3 - Haste/Slow. If positive, character is hasted. If negative, slowed.
4 - Invulnerable.
5 - Magic Resistant.
6 - Webbed.
7 - Diseased. Goes down slower than 1 per turn.
8 - Charmed.
9 - Berserk.
10 - Asleep.
11 - Paralysis.
12 - Acid. Each turn, game divides the amount of acid the character has by two (rounded up), does 1-2 points of damage that many times, and reduces the acid level by that amount.
13 - Dumbfounded.
14 - Sanctuary.
15 - Martyr's Shield.
16 - Divinely Touched
17 - Resistant
18 - Confused
19 – Enlightened. This unusual status is only used for special encounters. You can have one special encounter that makes the party enlightened, and another encounter that checks to see if they still have this status to, say, open a door or use some other effect.
20 - Terrified
21 - Enfeebled
22 - Regenerating
23 - Nimble Fingers
24 - Featherfall
25 - Flying
26 - Safe Travel
27 - Hovering Feet
28 - Drunk.
29 - Force Cage. Each turn, goes down by the character’s strength, plus 1.
30 - Fleeing. Each turn, goes down by the character’s intelligence, plus 1.

Status Ranges

The legal range for most statuses if 0 to 250 (so it can have any value from 0, for no status, to 250, the maximum). There are some exceptions. Bless, Shield, and Haste can have a negative value, and can range from –250 to 250. Sleep, Charm, and Paralyze can be at most 10 (so a character can’t magically sleep for over 10 turns).

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #241
I new I probably didn't search well enough. Thanks Drakefyre.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Warrior
Member # 2796
Profile #242
Hi,
quote:
"From the Appendices"
Where or should I ask in which doc they are to be found?
Thanks before hand.

--------------------
quote:
" He loved maps, and in his hall there hung a large one of the
Country Round with all his favourite walks marked on it in red ink."
---The Hobbit
pg21

Posts: 97 | Registered: Wednesday, March 19 2003 08:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #243
They're in the folder with the editor, in a file called BoA Editor Docs Appendices.

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #244
I'm trying to put in a custom wall set, but i don't quit understand how to do that. Do have to define every icon, or do I have to just put it in some cmg file? Its a comnpleted wall set I got from a website called The Blazing blade. There you can find Wall sets. So what do I have to do with it exactly? Do I put it in the BoA terraingraphics .cmg file, in the BoA files folder? Or do i put it somewhere else?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #245
You include the entire wallset as a single resource number in the cmg file. Look at the graphics file for, say, Lord Putidus to see how custom wall and floor sets are done.

[ Monday, August 29, 2005 15:17: Message edited by: Thuryl ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #246
To add on to what Thuryl said: note that this requires no scripting. All you have to do is take the wallset in its entirety, save it as a graphic number (a resource in the cmg file on a Mac, G5[something].bmp on a PC), and then set it as one of the wall sheets in Town Details.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #247
Is that really all!? What a relief! Thanks guys!

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #248
I've put in some wall sets, and they all work, so thanks, Thuryl and Kelandon.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #249
can anybody explain me this? The game says it can't icon 4 in sheet 514, but its there all right. Can there be a problem with it having an animation? This is the code:

begindefineterrain 474;
clear;
te_name = "Waterfall";
te_which_sheet = 514;
te_which_icon = 0;
te_second_icon = 4;
te_second_icon_offset_y = -55;
te_ed_which_sheet = 504;
te_ed_which_icon = 40;
te_move_block_n = 1;
te_move_block_w = 1;
te_move_block_s = 1;
te_move_block_e = 1;
te_light_radius = 2;
te_anim_steps = 4;
i don't know why the game says it can't find it, because its really there. maybe one of you guys knows what the problem is?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00

Pages