Skill at Gaming

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Skill at Gaming
Warrior
Member # 1250
Profile #0
I'm back to the boards for a bit, since I've been playing GF3 again. Never beaten it.

Which brings me to my post topic: I am not good at games. This isn't a "pity-me" topic; I live a fairly fulfilling life without being great at games. But the point stands that I've always been frustrated that I have so much trouble getting through games--RPG computer- or videogames, mostly.

My brother, on the other hand, is a dab hand at almost any game he picks up. What do you all think accounts for skill at games like Spiderweb's?
Law Bringer
Member # 335
Profile Homepage #1
Practice. There's no point at which you can't think everything through, so your successes or failures are based on your thinking only. Play enough RPGs and you're learn how RPGs work. Play enough of a particular game and you'll be able to get through it with a no-magic singleton.

—Alorael, who used to be terrible at games of all sorts. Now he's only terrible at most games. Progress can be made!
Posts: 14579 | Registered: Saturday, December 1 2001 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #2
First of all, experience. Secondly, the ability to take it seriously. Really - have you ever wondered why in a family boardgame, the youngest children win most often? It's not just because the others "go easy" on them, it's also because they focus more of their attention on the game, where their parents might play more to pass time.