Why does Jeff have a bad rep?

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).

Pages

AuthorTopic: Why does Jeff have a bad rep?
Apprentice
Member # 5015
Profile #0
I did ia search of Jeff Vogel on these boards and the majority was people on here coming down pretty hard on Jeff. He doesn't seem to be too popular here (on his own boards :P ) I'm wondering why?

I'm a wannabe indie game developer, and have downloaded Jeff's demos, read all the info on his neat links, read all the ariticles on irony central, and the great articles in the Shareware Developers Resource. All of this gave me quite a high opinion on the man. However, I find not many here feel the same...
Shake Before Using
Member # 75
Profile #1
The support he offered for BoE was in many ways less than exceptional - and, at times, less than acceptable.

So far, however, I believe that he has been quite supportive of the BoA community.
Agent
Member # 618
Profile Homepage #2
This, http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=7;t=001519 is a good example.

--------------------
Aut Tace Aut Loquere Meliora Silencio
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #3
The Lyceum is a pretty good source for this sort of information.

Jeff's description of BoA (from well before it came out)

Alcritas's response to his description

Is Jeff guilty of mail fraud?

Also, a quick comparison of SW's description of the status of bugs in BoE and their intentions vs. some Lyceum descriptions (1 2 3 -- and there are more) is instructive. Jeff's response and the community's response to him is also rather interesting.

Not to mention a more recent event, and of course, the link to Shyguy's sadness above.