Challenging/Fun Moments?

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Challenging/Fun Moments?
Shock Trooper
Member # 643
Profile #0
Im not sure if this has come up before, but as a novice scenerio designer I've been reading up on scenerio reviews (mostly BoE ones since they are more numerous) and alot of them suggest that puzzles need to be more fun, combat more challenging etc.

What exactly makes for a challenging battle or fun imaginative puzzle? I've read articles on dungeon design and storyline developement, but have yet to find anything on these aspects that I would think make up the guts of playing any scenerio.

--------------------
Fine Meal is people!!!
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #1
Probably the best monster, is one which adapts to the party's weapons (increases resistances per attack), and also changes it's own level to be constantly higher than the party's (say, five levels higher). As such, a scenario like that will be perfect for all levels of party. However, since I'm not a great scripter, that idea is far into the future... for me.

- Archmagi Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #2
http://www.sitemouse.com/users/drakefyre/boa.html#art1

I don't see how you could have read dungeon design articles and somehow missed this one ...

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy