Avernum 1 Singleton

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).

Pages

AuthorTopic: Avernum 1 Singleton
Shaper
Member # 6292
Profile #0
So...

I think I'll replay A1 as a singleton, which I have never done before, and it's been a long time since I played A1 at all. I've been poking through threads and FAQs, but find little on A1 in regards to building an optimal singleton. The FAQ for A1 seems naive. I'm looking for some distilled wisdom here.

I'm going with Divinely Touched and Strong will with a warrior priest. I'll use sword and shield. Randomizer has mentioned you can top out at Level 40 only halfway through the game. With the 55% penalty here, is this more likely to even out? I don't want to waste too much.

What about Tool Use and Cave Lore? Do I need to use these at all? Is Defense or Hardiness worth any bother? I'm really rusty on A1 mechanics. There's no encumbrance in A1? I forget.

Your best thorough strategy/advice please. Thanks,

-S-

--------------------
A4 Item Locations A4 Singleton G4 Items List G4 Forging List The Insidious Infiltrator
Raven v. Writing Desk
Member # 261
Profile Homepage #1
I recall that the earlier versions of Divinely Touched were crappy, and basically gave you several wimpy abilities that did not grow stronger over time -- beast call, and so on. I don't remember if A1's version was like that, but I'd be cautious about it.

--------------------
Slarty vs. DeskDesk vs. SlartyTimeline of ErmarianG4 Strategy Central
Posts: 3560 | Registered: Wednesday, November 7 2001 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 6785
Profile #2