A note about custom graphics

AuthorTopic: A note about custom graphics
Shock Trooper
Member # 461
Profile #0
I tried temporarily replacing the goblin graphic in A1 with ADoS's earth elemental, to see how it looks in the actual game. It looked kind of...weird. Almost like a clay model. I tried drawing black borders around the elemental as someone suggested, and it looked a lot better. Try it yourself. Whoever said this is right--you really do need black outlines aorund your graphics for it to look right in the game.

--------------------
"If you held a weapon to Fwiffo's head, he would say anything you wanted him to. In fact, if you held a vegetable to Fwiffo's head, he'd say whatever you wanted him to." - Spathi high council, Star Control 2.
Posts: 346 | Registered: Sunday, December 30 2001 08:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1863
Profile #1
Speaking of which, how do you safely place a custom graphic for testing in one of the avernum graphics files? I tried testing some of mine in A3 yesterday and it told me I had a corrupted graphics file, displayed random graphics similar to the results of using non-existent custom graphics in Blades, and displayed many, many errors in the text line.

--------------------
Fnord. (Insert your name here) is a capitalist pigdog.
Deus Ex Penguin: God out of the Penguin......Cogito Eggo Sum: I think, waffle I am.
If Voting could change the system, it would be against the law.
Posts: 298 | Registered: Tuesday, September 10 2002 07:00
FAQSELF
Member # 3
Profile #2
Did you convert it to a bitmap format? If so, make a copy of the file you want to replace, then copy your custom graphic into the file, and rename it. I've succeeded with my blue jelly monster and giant lizards, so it does work.

--------------------
A few cats short of a kitten pot pie...

Radioactive cats have 18 half-lives.
Check out a great source for information on Avernum 2, Nethergate, and Subterra: Zeviz's page.
Finally, there's my Geneforge FAQ, Geneforge 2 FAQ, and
Geneforge 3 FAQ.
Posts: 2831 | Registered: Tuesday, September 18 2001 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1863
Profile #3
Bitmap? I don't use bitmaps, do I? I use resedit on macintosh, normally. And that's what I did, aside from copying and altering the Character graphics file with resedit. I think I'm going to try again. Maybe I just screwed up the resource numbers or somesuch. I'll report back later.

--------------------
Fnord. (Insert your name here) is a capitalist pigdog.
Deus Ex Penguin: God out of the Penguin......Cogito Eggo Sum: I think, waffle I am.
If Voting could change the system, it would be against the law.
Posts: 298 | Registered: Tuesday, September 10 2002 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1973
Profile Homepage #4
Black outlines aren't actually necessary. I find it's best to go with outlines that are the color of what they are outlining, but much darker. Just light enough that you can tell that it's brown, blue, red, or what have you.
Posts: 319 | Registered: Monday, September 30 2002 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1863
Profile #5
Hmmm. Still isn't working. I still get the corrupted graphics error, and this time I was trying it with A1. I wonder what I could be doing wrong.

--------------------
Fnord. (Insert your name here) is a capitalist pigdog.
Deus Ex Penguin: God out of the Penguin......Cogito Eggo Sum: I think, waffle I am.
If Voting could change the system, it would be against the law.
Posts: 298 | Registered: Tuesday, September 10 2002 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1654
Profile #6
I got the same problem when I replaced a character with 12 action things with one that had 16, but I fixed it and quit and then it worked fine.
Posts: 370 | Registered: Friday, August 2 2002 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1444
Profile #7
quote:
Originally posted by modnaR:
Hmmm. Still isn't working. I still get the corrupted graphics error, and this time I was trying it with A1. I wonder what I could be doing wrong.
Open the graph in a new window ( select it and press enter). Now, you have to have copied the new graph, you paste it in, no messin with numbers. Save. Quit. Run the game (you should not have it running when you alter the graphics file) and it should work, if not I don't really know what would be wrong.
Posts: 250 | Registered: Saturday, July 6 2002 07:00
Shaper
Member # 73
Profile #8
quote:
Originally posted by jwj442:
I tried temporarily replacing the goblin graphic in A1 with ADoS's earth elemental, to see how it looks in the actual game. It looked kind of...weird. Almost like a clay model. I tried drawing black borders around the elemental as someone suggested, and it looked a lot better. Try it yourself. Whoever said this is right--you really do need black outlines aorund your graphics for it to look right in the game.
I'll do that later. By the way, you misspelled "around." :D

--------------------
My Myspace, with some of my audial and visual art
The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community
The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database
Alexandria - The Blades of Exile Scenario database
BoE Webring - Self explanatory
Polaris - Free porn here
Odd Todd - Fun for the unemployed (and everyone else too)
They Might Be Giants - Four websites for one of the greatest bands in existance
--------------------
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1863
Profile #9
Problem is, Slithzerikai rogue, that's what I did. Who knows, maybe I screwed something up somewhere. I guess I'll try again, one of these days. Until then, thanks for your help.

--------------------
Fnord. (Insert your name here) is a capitalist pigdog.
Deus Ex Penguin: God out of the Penguin......Cogito Eggo Sum: I think, waffle I am.
If Voting could change the system, it would be against the law.
Posts: 298 | Registered: Tuesday, September 10 2002 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 164
Profile Homepage #10
oh my goodness! i was useful! someone used my suggestion to put borders on the creatures! hoorah! i'm so happy for me!

FRAHHAMN IS NOT USELESS

--------------------
Awesome BoA Graphics

MSN: bleusoulilcercatore@hotmail.com
AIM: Byzantine Jones
Posts: 635 | Registered: Monday, October 15 2001 07:00