Exile Fan Games

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Exile Fan Games
Apprentice
Member # 4342
Profile Homepage #0
Hello everyone. I am a hobbyist game programmer/angry koopa and I would like to know if you are allowed to make Exile fan games. In the license agreement it's said that Exile is a fully copyrighted product or something, and that no one may steal distribute without permission.

But what I would like to know is if you can build your own game based on the Exile storyline.

If you know, please tell me. IMAGE(smile000.gif)

--------------------
IMAGE(http://www.freewebs.com/angrykoopa/bowser_sm.PNG)
Infiltrator
Member # 1877
Profile #1
No images in the sigs.
You can ask Jeff for permission if you want, but I figure it will be all right, if you don't copy anything but the story.

--------------------
For Ancelot
the ancient cross of war
for the holy town of gods
Gloria, gloria perpetua
in this dawn of victory

The one and only StD!

33111-CRUSADER-4849
Infiltrator
Member # 3040
Profile #2
You're allowed to if you use BoA/BoE... I'm not sure if you'd be able to write your own game from scratch though. In neither case would you be able to make money off of it, most likely.

--------------------
who?
Agent
Member # 27
Profile #3
Why not just register BoE or BoA, and do it from there?

Edit: oops, posted at the same time.

[ Sunday, May 02, 2004 16:12: Message edited by: Dancing Slith ]

--------------------
"You know a book is good, when it makes you feel like crying or reaching into its fictional realm and strangling one of the characters."
Law Bringer
Member # 335
Profile Homepage #4
Jeff has taken a hard-line stance against fanfiction. I imagine his view towards fangames will be equally negative, if not more so.