Technical Issue

AuthorTopic: Technical Issue
Apprentice
Member # 9688
Profile #0
I have windows XP and I cannot get for anything text to properly display on Blades of Exile

There will be...simply nothing there...

Can someone help here?
Posts: 28 | Registered: Friday, August 10 2007 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 7662
Profile #1
Do you know about the Compatibility Wizard? Just right click on the program when in Windows Explorer and look at the Compatibility tab.
Posts: 292 | Registered: Monday, November 13 2006 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 9688
Profile #2
quote:
Originally written by Ishad Nha:

Do you know about the Compatibility Wizard? Just right click on the program when in Windows Explorer and look at the Compatibility tab.
No I haven't heard of it

Don't you mean in the control panel?

[ Tuesday, February 05, 2008 21:32: Message edited by: Darkling ]
Posts: 28 | Registered: Friday, August 10 2007 07:00
Shaper
Member # 73
Profile #3
No. Right-click on BLADEXIL.EXE (should be in C:\Program Files\BLADEXIL\ unless you put the program somewhere else), then click Properties, then click the Compatibility tab, and check "Run this program in compatibility mode for" and select Windows 95 from the dropdown menu.

Hope that helps.

--------------------
My Myspace, with some of my art
The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community
The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database
BoE Webring - Self explanatory
They Might Be Giants - Four official websites for one of the greatest bands in existence
Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 9688
Profile #4
Ohhhhh

Now I know what your talking about

Thanks!

Dunno if itll work right now, gotta go to school
Posts: 28 | Registered: Friday, August 10 2007 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 9688
Profile #5
Alright another question

How do I convert scenarios to PC?

i.e mac-->pc
Posts: 28 | Registered: Friday, August 10 2007 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 7662
Profile #6
If you only want to play someone else's scenario there should be a Windows version around the place somewhere.

If you can't find a Windows translation or if you want to write your own scenario:

My understanding is that the Mac "exs" files should just be opened in a Windows BoE Editor and then saved.

As for any Meg graphics, I don't know. When BoE was big time, before BoA, Spiderweb software converted graphics before a scenario was released.
Posts: 292 | Registered: Monday, November 13 2006 08:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 10488
Profile #7
quote:
Originally written by Ishad Nha:


My understanding is that the Mac "exs" files should just be opened in a Windows BoE Editor and then saved.

I'm pretty sure this is unnecessary, which is a good thing since it's not possible in password-protected scenarios.

quote:
Originally written by Ishad Nha:

As for any Meg graphics, I don't know. When BoE was big time, before BoA, Spiderweb software converted graphics before a scenario was released.
I think the only way to deal with the graphics is to get someone who has a Mac to convert them. Although on FAT drives they are usually stored in an invisible folder (RESOURCE.FRK or something like that), I don't think the file format is openable on Windows.

Ideally a Mac user creating a scenario should provide graphics for Windows. Preferably in BMP, but any standard graphics format would work.
Posts: 334 | Registered: Friday, September 14 2007 07:00
Shaper
Member # 73
Profile #8
Actually, BoE only takes BMP on Windows, and if you use JPG you risk filling the image with compression artifacts, resulting in whitish patches where there should be transparent space in the game.

As for the EXS files, they are completely cross-platform.

--------------------
My Myspace, with some of my art
The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community
The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database
BoE Webring - Self explanatory
They Might Be Giants - Four official websites for one of the greatest bands in existence
Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 10488
Profile #9
quote:
Originally written by The Almighty Doer of Stuff:

Actually, BoE only takes BMP on Windows, and if you use JPG you risk filling the image with compression artifacts, resulting in whitish patches where there should be transparent space in the game.

I know it only takes BMP, but it's pretty easy for a Windows user to convert a GIF or PNG to BMP format. It may be harder for some Mac users to do this.
Posts: 334 | Registered: Friday, September 14 2007 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #10
quote:
Originally written by Celtic Minstrel:

It may be harder for some Mac users to do this.
Preview will do it, and all reasonably current Macs have Preview.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 10488
Profile #11
I was thinking of Mac Classic. There's probably still people who haven't yet upgraded from that. But yes, as I said, BMP is ideal.
Posts: 334 | Registered: Friday, September 14 2007 07:00
Warrior
Member # 6096
Profile Homepage #12
When I use my old Mac Classic, I use QuickTime to open BMPs.
Posts: 77 | Registered: Sunday, July 10 2005 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 10488
Profile #13
Open them, yes, but not create them... right?
Posts: 334 | Registered: Friday, September 14 2007 07:00