The Melee Warrior

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: The Melee Warrior
Infiltrator
Member # 5754
Profile #0
I have only played the game so I may have missed something so do not rely on this.

When I started playing I was all excited about how, with the new action point system, the Warrior would be much better in melee. It was not. In melee, without magic, if you want to last long you need good armor. With the lower increase to encumberence rate increase from strength you had to waste many precious skill points on strength. The armor weight seemed to not have been decreased enough for you to have the best (and heaviest) armors without having massive strength. I needed 12 strength, by Moseh, to have the best protection.

Another problem is that it would be much harder without a creation to back you up. Since you're a melee warrior you want a ranged creation to back you up. This means that since you aren't going to spend many points on intelligence, you want a fourth or third tier creation. This means Wingbolt, Kyshakk or Drayk. I personally chose Wingbolt, mainly because of using no canisters (I was a Shaper), but I would have chosen it anyways. You then need to use up more skill points for magic or fire shaping.

There is also the problem of leadership, mech and luck. This uses up skill points that could be spent on melee skills and endurence.