G3 ? - Skill Points and Item

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: G3 ? - Skill Points and Item
Apprentice
Member # 7317
Profile #0
Hi -

I've just started playing Geneforge 3 and I'm at the last segment of the first island. I've played G1 for a few days before, but other that, I'm completely new to the game. I've tried searching the forum, but I can't find a thread that answers my questions.

#1 - Skill points - is the only way of getting them is to level up? Every time I get some, I always use them. In other threads, I've notice people hoard them up.

#2 - Items. What's the point of the flawed crystals? Is that just something to get cash? I'm a bit confused, I tried forging them to my sword, but only the ruby worked. I sell things like candles and work tools (saws, axes, etc.) to get be able to buy new spells.

I'm a Shaper, at Level 9 and am just about to battle the big boss at the end of the first island. Strength and the other four skill sets are at 5-4, everything else is pretty poor - fire shaping is at 1, and leadership at 5, mechanics at 7 and luck at 4. Am I on the right track, or totally off? I'm really not used to so many different statistics.

I've beaten off all the rouges, and if the only way to get more skill points is to level up, I'm pretty hooched. Is there another way of getting them?

The other thing - I have seven saved games - how did that happen? I have only made two... I'm a organize freak, and I don't like having extra clutter around - is it possible to delete these unused game slots?

That's all for now, any help or a point to a tip list (I tried looking at that FAQ - it was way too long and none of my search questions came up.)

Thanks
Electric Sheep One
Member # 3431
Profile #1
Welcome to the boards.