Slowing down the walking

AuthorTopic: Slowing down the walking
Lifecrafter
Member # 3320
Profile #0
I have to ask because I just started playing the first Avernum game today.

Is there some sort of way to slow down the character walking to one block at a time instead of two?

I prefered the walking the way it was in the Exile Trillogy.

--------------------
"Keep your wits about you, the game is afoot!!" - Sherlock Holmes

Gay Christian Network
Posts: 935 | Registered: Friday, August 8 2003 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 643
Profile #1
Edit: Uh I see what you mean, your using the mouse right? thats quite annoying, I use the number pad unless I want my party to "run", it offers much more control, have a practice with it and you'll get used to the directions hopefully.

[ Wednesday, July 20, 2005 20:38: Message edited by: Mortimer ]

--------------------
Fine Meal is people!!!
Posts: 289 | Registered: Saturday, February 16 2002 08:00
Lifecrafter
Member # 3320
Profile #2
I think I've hit upon something. I used my right mouse button instead of the left out of curiosity and found that the characters started moving one step at a time instead of two.

Not sure though if this works with anyone else's mouse.

--------------------
"Keep your wits about you, the game is afoot!!" - Sherlock Holmes

Gay Christian Network
Posts: 935 | Registered: Friday, August 8 2003 07:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #3
I have no idea what you're talking about, but I assume that's because I use the keyboard and a Mac.

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Shaper
Member # 5437
Profile #4
I'm using a two-button mouse (on a Mac), and the PCs move one space at a time with left or right click. I don't normally use the mouse, as find the arrow keys to be more convenient.
Posts: 2032 | Registered: Wednesday, January 26 2005 08:00
Agent
Member # 3349
Profile Homepage #5
Mine have always walked one step. But then again I've always used left click. Who knows......

--------------------
And everybody say....Yatta!
Posts: 1287 | Registered: Thursday, August 14 2003 07:00
Agent
Member # 5814
Profile #6
Go to File Menu, then Preferences, and set Game Speed to something lower if single-space movement still proves trippy.

--------------------
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon
Well, I'm at least pretty

Posts: 1115 | Registered: Sunday, May 15 2005 07:00
Warrior
Member # 4971
Profile Homepage #7
You can just click with the left button of the mouse but you have to stay clicking every time
Posts: 65 | Registered: Wednesday, September 15 2004 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 6082
Profile #8
Yeah, I'm on a Windows and my right mouse button makes there be only one step. Quite useful, usually. I hate walking 2 spaces at once.
Posts: 4 | Registered: Friday, July 8 2005 07:00
Warrior
Member # 5212
Profile #9
I use a laptop Computer, which has NO number pad. Any suggestions?
It's kinda hard to look for secret passages moving two at a time . . .

--------------------
The whole purpose of your life Might just be to serve as a warning to others.
Build a man a Fire and he will be warm for a day, set a man on Fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
[b]Meow! Subvert the dominant Paradigm! Meow! Meow![b] Wizard's Cat in A2
Posts: 94 | Registered: Thursday, November 18 2004 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 2829
Profile #10
Can they not update Avernum 1 to use Avernum 2's mouse scheme? Man, it is sooo much better. Left click works as it should (one click, one step. Hold it down and zooom! Off ya go and no more barrel-pushing, door-opening annoyances!). Right click brings up the talk/look command (that's right, it intuits which one you want!). Seriously... it should be updated.
Posts: 21 | Registered: Sunday, March 30 2003 08:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #11
quote:
Originally written by Lochmacher:

Can they not update Avernum 1 to use Avernum 2's mouse scheme?
They could, but Spiderweb has never done something like this before. Apparently Jeff's code is something of a mess, so changing one little bit here could throw off the balance in three other places that he doesn't expect.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Agent
Member # 3349
Profile Homepage #12
I agree Lochmacher, I like A2's walking system much better than A1's.

--------------------
And everybody say....Yatta!
Posts: 1287 | Registered: Thursday, August 14 2003 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 6068
Profile #13
Oh, freak, I thought I was the only one annoyed by the "two step" annoyance from A1. Setting the speed lower didn't seem to work for me, and I just need to have it higher anyway, for everything else (got a lot of work to do killing those Imperial Slugs)!

It would be REALLY cool if Mr. Vogel would release updates to the engines and bugs and stuff for registered users of his games. I would be on this site, like, eight times as much as I already am. Which isn't that much, actually. Sorry guys...

--------------------
"Sometimes I get all hungry!
And then I catch some flies!
They fly into my webs!
They are really yummy guys!"
-Spider
Posts: 209 | Registered: Monday, July 4 2005 07:00