Some suggestions to the game

AuthorTopic: Some suggestions to the game
Apprentice
Member # 3443
Profile #0
I think that there should be an option that you 'cloud' the map of an area \ city you're in. When I'm in a city, I explore all of it, and then I see in the automap that there are places I haven't explored yet, and realise that there's some hidden entrance, so I search for one. Then when I get back to the city, I want to find the place again, but the whole place is revealed in the automap so it's very confusing and I can't find the place I want. So if there will be an option to cloud the automap of a place you've explored, it would make things easier. But it should cloud only the place you're in at the moment, because clouding the whole world after you explored would suck.

Another idea is to have a huge map that you can access, that when you explore outside areas, they'll be shown there. That way people can go to it, and then it shows them where places are, and they can also write notes in the map, would be extremely useful!
I also think that the map should state where boats that you found are, I lost so many boats, it's really annoying, having to search everywhere for a boat, not finding it, going back to the place where you realise you lost it, and find out that you left it inside a city, and that's why you couldn't find it while searching outside... (But that might be just me :P )

Here's an addon: I'd really like riding the lizard chariots that are all over Avernum 2, I think it should be added... They'll be vehicles you use in the outside areas, probebly for going fast. Pros: you go fast, would be useful for quests where you must get from one place to another in short time. Less random encounters. You can put some of your stuff there instead of carrying them in the inventory. Cons: You can't randomly find herbs. Less random encounters (Yeah, that's both a pro and a con :P ). You can't use them in narrow places, in lava places, fly with them using the orb, go on rough terrain, etc, so you'll have to leave them behind and remmember where you left them (Unless the big map thingy I suggested above would be made :P )

[ Wednesday, September 24, 2003 08:45: Message edited by: FriendlySpider ]

--------------------
Aka SaintNuclear
Posts: 5 | Registered: Monday, September 8 2003 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #1
Riding lizards like horses on the surface, or using chariots, is a cool idea. I think, though, that you can accomplish it by fiddling with the graphics. But that would mean you can only ride either lizards or horses in a single scenario.

About clouding the maps. I think it's possible to reset maps in the editor. But there probably isn't a way to limit it to a single town. :(

--------------------
EncyclopaediaArchivesMembersRSS [Topic / Forum] • BlogPolarisNaNoWriMo
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair.
I have a love of woodwind instruments.
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00
Agent
Member # 2820
Profile #2
I think that all of these problems, except the horse and lizard chariot one, can be solved with the ability to take down notes in the game!!!

--------------------
Thuryl: I mean, most of us don't go around consuming our own bodily fluids, no matter how delicious they are.
====
Alorael: War and violence would end if we all had each other's babies!
====
Drakefyre: Those are hideous mangos.
Posts: 1415 | Registered: Thursday, March 27 2003 08:00
Guardian
Member # 2238
Profile Homepage #3
OK.

A simple solution to the annotation of maps: make a picture (bmp, whatever), and include it in the zip that the scenario comes in. The user can then add his own notes.

The lizard chariots were said to be possible. Jeff hinted (told?) us that we would be able use alternate graphics for horse-like things. Restrictions could be applyed with scripts.

Clouding an area should be possible with scripts, but we'll have to see on that.

--------------------
DEMON PLAY,
DEMON OUT!
Posts: 1582 | Registered: Wednesday, November 13 2002 08:00
Agent
Member # 2820
Profile #4
I wonder why Jeff didn't put such a useful feature into his games. I should probably go bug him about it or something. In fact, I don't think there are that many games where you can take down notes...

--------------------
Thuryl: I mean, most of us don't go around consuming our own bodily fluids, no matter how delicious they are.
====
Alorael: War and violence would end if we all had each other's babies!
====
Drakefyre: Those are hideous mangos.
Posts: 1415 | Registered: Thursday, March 27 2003 08:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #5
Because you can just use pen and paper.

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Guardian
Member # 2238
Profile Homepage #6
That's what I do. You should see my computer desk; it's full of papers that have notes from games. That and IP addresses for Half-Life...

--------------------
DEMON PLAY,
DEMON OUT!
Posts: 1582 | Registered: Wednesday, November 13 2002 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 3443
Profile #7
Well, I didn't really knew about those features of taking notes and the horses, I haven't even started A3 yet, so I guess that most of the things I said are already implemented more or less.
Still, I could find the map clouding very useful...

--------------------
Aka SaintNuclear
Posts: 5 | Registered: Monday, September 8 2003 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 335
Profile Homepage #8
Notes are not implemented in-game besides the journal, which can only record messages you have seen or conversations you have had. However, a pen and a nice pad of paper (or a good word processing program) is always handy.

—Alorael, who would like to see the ability to reset and/or deactivate the automap. Some mazes just aren't as much fun when you can see where you've been.
Posts: 14579 | Registered: Saturday, December 1 2001 08:00
Warrior
Member # 246
Profile #9
quote:
Originally written by Alorael:

(or a good word processing program) is always handy.

Only problem with a word processor is that the game is full screen. :(

But all I do is memorize the location of something. Doesn't work too good with huge maps though.

[ Thursday, September 25, 2003 13:41: Message edited by: Frobozz ]
Posts: 117 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Senile Reptile
Member # 547
Profile #10
There should be an option to disable the automap completely (sorry if this has been said and repeated and repeated again a billion times, but I haven't been lurking in this particular forum). That would be extremely useful in a great number of circumstances.

As far as notes go, stone tablets work fine for me.

--------------------
Polaris
Posts: 1614 | Registered: Wednesday, January 23 2002 08:00
Shaper
Member # 73
Profile #11
quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

quote:
Originally written by Alorael:

(or a good word processing program) is always handy.

Only problem with a word processor is that the game is full screen. :(

But all I do is memorize the location of something. Doesn't work too good with huge maps though.

In the Preferences menu, there's an option that says "Avernum takes up whole screen". If you deactivate this, you can use a word processor.

--------------------
My Myspace, with some of my audial and visual art
The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community
The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database
Alexandria - The Blades of Exile Scenario database
BoE Webring - Self explanatory
Polaris - Free porn here
Odd Todd - Fun for the unemployed (and everyone else too)
They Might Be Giants - Four websites for one of the greatest bands in existance
--------------------
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 3132
Profile #12
Before adding something new I would like to find these things fixed:

1. When adding item check in following order:
i. overload?
ii. possible to stack with item in inventory (e.g. adding arrows when there are already some in inv)
iii. enough room in inventory

Because currently the possibility to stack is checked after the check for a free slot but its annoying to require a free slot when the item doesnt use it in the end anyway.

2. On Windows you can right click an item you are wearing and you see info about it. There is no such thing on MAC and you have to disequip the item first.

3. Make the whole game completely keyboard-only play. There are still some screens that require mouse interaction.

4. The maximum number of recordable messages should be raised.

5. A new spell should be introduced that can convert stuff to gold (but less than you would get when selling it). So you neednt run back to a town all the time just for selling stuff.

6. New skill: weapon crafting where you can build your own weapons (or ammunition for bows)
Posts: 3 | Registered: Sunday, June 22 2003 07:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #13
2) Option-clicking will get you info, IIRC.

6) You can write this into your own scenario.

BoA is not going to have an engine change from A3, so the details of programming like 1, 3, 4, and 5 are not going to happen, although there is a slight possibility of number one.

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Guardian
Member # 2238
Profile Homepage #14
I understand and actually agree with all of these... EXCEPT 3 and 5. I use my mouse when playing. If you don't, I'm sorry, but most people do. And 5 is just not well thought out.

--------------------
DEMON PLAY,
DEMON OUT!
Posts: 1582 | Registered: Wednesday, November 13 2002 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #15
You can actually play the game with a keyboard? I must try that some time... :D

1. Most important thing ever. It used to annoy the hell out of me in Avernum. Wasn't it fixed in A2 and A3? If not, I really don't understand why.

2. I can't say anything coz I use Windows. I think dis-equipping the item to see the info sucks, though. It's a lot of clicks.

4. Hell yes!

5. No, I don't think that's a really good idea. It sounds like it makes it too easy.

6. Cool, but with some skill you can do it in BoE, and in BoA it should be even easier. ;)

--------------------
EncyclopaediaArchivesMembersRSS [Topic / Forum] • BlogPolarisNaNoWriMo
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair.
I have a love of woodwind instruments.
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00
Warrior
Member # 246
Profile #16
quote:
Originally written by Drakefyre:

BoA is not going to have an engine change from A3, so the details of programming like 1, 3, 4, and 5 are not going to happen, although there is a slight possibility of number one.
Number 1 should be easy enough to change. It should just be a matter of rearranging the condition statements.

Number 3 is extremely easy (or should be if Jeff is a good coder) and should simply be a change of a constant.

Number 4 is the most difficult with going around associating keys to everything.

Number 5 is ridiculous and for the lazy, but should be simple enough. Just make the items disappear from the inventory (which is probably just a structured array) and increase the gold variable.

[ Sunday, September 28, 2003 17:50: Message edited by: Frobozz ]
Posts: 117 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Infiltrator
Member # 3040
Profile #17
quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

Number 1 should be easy enough to change. It should just be a matter of rearranging the condition statements.
Number 3 is extremely easy (or should be if Jeff is a good coder) and should simply be a change of a constant.
Number 4 is the most difficult with going around associating keys to everything.
Number 5 is ridiculous and for the lazy, but should be simple enough. Just make the items disappear from the inventory (which is probably just a structured array) and increase the gold variable.

1. I agree.
3. Not that simple, because it requires allocating more memory and might change the way the game stores and recalls the information.
4. Probably actually the easiest one to change.
5. Isn't very realistic (or at least realistic to the Avernum system) and completely destroys the game balance Jeff worked so hard to make by limiting the amount of gold one could carry.

--------------------
5.0.1.0.0.0.0.1.0...
Posts: 508 | Registered: Thursday, May 29 2003 07:00
Lifecrafter
Member # 1768
Profile #18
I think FroBozz accidentally transposed 3 and 4. It just doesn't make sense otherwise.

--------------------
"Oh, North Wind, why frighten others?
In Nature's family all are brothers.
Puff and blow and wheeze and hiss;
You can't frighten Shingebiss.
Bring your frost and ice and snow;
I'm still free to come and go.
You can never frighten me,
One who never fears is FREE!"
-Shingebiss, the mighty duck
Posts: 830 | Registered: Tuesday, August 20 2002 07:00
Warrior
Member # 246
Profile #19
Heh... now that you mention it... I did. :D
Posts: 117 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Guardian
Member # 2238
Profile Homepage #20
Bah. It's a government conspiracy. It has to do with Half-Life 2's delay. :cue super-nerd drooling sound:

--------------------
DEMON PLAY,
DEMON OUT!
Posts: 1582 | Registered: Wednesday, November 13 2002 08:00
Warrior
Member # 3457
Profile #21
quote:
Originally written by The Almighty Doer of Stuff:

quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

quote:
Originally written by Alorael:

(or a good word processing program) is always handy.

Only problem with a word processor is that the game is full screen. :(

But all I do is memorize the location of something. Doesn't work too good with huge maps though.

In the Preferences menu, there's an option that says "Avernum takes up whole screen". If you deactivate this, you can use a word processor.

or on windows open the document first then play the game once in the game u can switch 2 the doc. and back to the game again by pressing Alt+Tab than you don't have to change any settings or worry about it being full screen.

--------------------
Life is an ever flowing steam that is constantly going over bumps and falls. Things change and so does the stream we call life. Life goes on and so does the stream!
Posts: 61 | Registered: Sunday, September 14 2003 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 1207
Profile #22
I play so much with the keyboard that the combinations are sort of fixed in my mind, for instance mgabc is ice bolts (or maybe mgabcde at higher levels) maa is bolt of fire and pa1/2/3/4 is heal...
I don't even understand what you were talking about with the clouding thing- just the way you put it across, but the thing to disable it for designers is a cool idea... I'm sure I remember a level which did that or am I just imagining things?
Posts: 316 | Registered: Saturday, May 25 2002 07:00