Lighting Outdoors???

AuthorTopic: Lighting Outdoors???
Apprentice
Member # 5920
Profile Homepage #0
I have recently started to design my second scenario. The project started after I played Bahssikava through (That took a h*ll of a long time, sorry Kelandon) and I was inspired by it when I invented the plot. (There, you go as emissaries to the vahnatai realms and do a quest for them in order to attempt to make peace.) :)

I have just finished writing the scenario data file. I have put a light radius of 3 for each of the building terrain types, but when I place the buildings outdoors they cast no light neither in the game nor in the 3D editor! :mad:

They do cast light indoors, and the whole thing works fine in Avernum 3, but it doesn't seem to work in Blades of Avernum!! :mad: :mad:

Is it a bug, or has the feature been dropped off the code by purpose?!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

[ Sunday, August 28, 2005 05:40: Message edited by: Omikron ]

--------------------
"Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul." -Sauron
Posts: 49 | Registered: Wednesday, June 8 2005 07:00
The Establishment
Member # 6
Profile #1
I'm not sure if you get light outdoors.

--------------------
Your flower power is no match for my glower power!
Posts: 3726 | Registered: Tuesday, September 18 2001 07:00
Agent
Member # 5814
Profile #2
Nope.

--------------------
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon
Well, I'm at least pretty

Posts: 1115 | Registered: Sunday, May 15 2005 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #3
Lighting outdoors doesn't work, i think. Only your party casts light (its strange, but well, what can i do). Anyway, I'm glad to see new scenario projects are strted. Good luck! :)

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 5920
Profile Homepage #4
Awww...that's a shame. But, anyway, thanks!

--------------------
"Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul." -Sauron
Posts: 49 | Registered: Wednesday, June 8 2005 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 6068
Profile #5
I've gotten light outside before...
Maybe it's at a certain level, or you weren't doing it at the right time of the night.

--------------------
"Sometimes I get all hungry!
And then I catch some flies!
They fly into my webs!
They are really yummy guys!"
-Spider
Posts: 209 | Registered: Monday, July 4 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #6
Light spells work (albeit poorly) outdoors, but light-emitting terrains don't.

[ Monday, August 29, 2005 15:09: Message edited by: Thuryl ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #7
If you really want light outdoors, perhaps you should take a bit more inspiration from Bahssikava and do all the outdoors as towns, as in Geneforge. It makes combat a whole lot more flexible, and it allows all kinds of lighting effects. :)

--------------------
Encyclopaedia ErmarianaForum ArchivesForum StatisticsRSS [Topic / Forum]
My BlogPolarisI eat novels for breakfast.
Polaris is dead, long live Polaris.
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair.
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 5920
Profile Homepage #8
That, em, could be an option. But I have already started designing on the outdoor sections. However, I have also created several creature scripts that work best indoors, so maybe I'll try a combination of the two styles, by making a single outdoor section to act more like a map and then jam-pack it with towns.

--------------------
"Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul." -Sauron
Posts: 49 | Registered: Wednesday, June 8 2005 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 5920
Profile Homepage #9
quote:
Originally by Chief Spider:
I've gotten light outside before...
Maybe it's at a certain level, or you weren't doing it at the right time of the night.

"Neat, where?" :D

I used it in Avernum, and had special effects turned on, and to be on the safe side I lit a torch and saw the light being cast from it. But the terrain was as dark as without light.

--------------------
"Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul." -Sauron
Posts: 49 | Registered: Wednesday, June 8 2005 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 6068
Profile #10
Just use a torch or a light spell at night. I think it works best in A3. ;)

--------------------
"Sometimes I get all hungry!
And then I catch some flies!
They fly into my webs!
They are really yummy guys!"
-Spider
Posts: 209 | Registered: Monday, July 4 2005 07:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #11
Couldn't you just pretend that the town cast light, while in actuality the terrain around the town was a lighter colour? That way it would look slightly "Lighter", without the terrain actually giving off light.

However, this would have to be the right level of lightness to work.

Oh well. It's an idea anyway.

- Archmagus Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #12
The problem with that is that if you made it light enough to look right at night, it'd look wrong during the day.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
E Equals MC What!!!!
Member # 5491
Profile Homepage #13
So change it on a timer.

--------------------
SupaNik: Aran, you're not big enough to threaten Ash. Dammit, even JV had to think twice.
Posts: 1861 | Registered: Friday, February 11 2005 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 5920
Profile Homepage #14
Best idea so far, thanks! :)

--------------------
"Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul." -Sauron
Posts: 49 | Registered: Wednesday, June 8 2005 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #15
quote:
Originally written by Ash Lael:

So change it on a timer.
That workaround is beginning to resemble some of the nastier ones in BoE in complexity...

--------------------
Encyclopaedia ErmarianaForum ArchivesForum StatisticsRSS [Topic / Forum]
My BlogPolarisI eat novels for breakfast.
Polaris is dead, long live Polaris.
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair.
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #16
Clearly, you've never tried to make a frame animation. :P

[ Thursday, September 01, 2005 23:31: Message edited by: Monkey Glands ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00