Intel & A1-A3

AuthorTopic: Intel & A1-A3
Shaper
Member # 247
Profile Homepage #0
Does Jeff have plans to make A1, A2, and A3 run smoothly on intel Macs? As it stands right now they really aren't playable on newer Macs.

[ Monday, June 04, 2007 12:15: Message edited by: VCH ]

--------------------
The Knight Between Posts.
Posts: 2395 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Warrior
Member # 8131
Profile Homepage #1
They seem to run ok on my iMac. Occassionally I see a beach ball during an action but it doesn't seem to slow it down any. Beings I've only played these games on an intel Mac they could be meant to run much faster and I wouldn't know, but they run fast enough for mii.
Posts: 145 | Registered: Sunday, February 18 2007 08:00
Shaper
Member # 247
Profile Homepage #2
My complaint is solely about the walking speed and movements of your party when not in combat mode. It seems like they just crawl around at a snail's pace. I've played the games on both intel and non-intel machines. And there is a definite speed decrease.

--------------------
The Knight Between Posts.
Posts: 2395 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Warrior
Member # 8131
Profile Homepage #3
Now I'm intrigued, I'm going to have to find me a PPC mac for comparison.
Posts: 145 | Registered: Sunday, February 18 2007 08:00
Shaper
Member # 247
Profile Homepage #4
Or just compare the Universal version of BOA or Nethergate to the PPC version. Both versions come with the games when you download them.

[ Monday, June 04, 2007 13:17: Message edited by: VCH ]

--------------------
The Knight Between Posts.
Posts: 2395 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 6489
Profile Homepage #5
Jeff claimed at one point that they seem to run fine, but I also find the lag unbearable. Whenever I want to play A1-3, I open up Parallels and run the Windows version. It's kind of ironic that they run better in emulated Windows than in OS X. :P

[ Monday, June 04, 2007 17:15: Message edited by: Tyranicus ]

--------------------
"You're drinking liquor because you're thirsty? How nasty is your freaking water?" —Lazarus
Spiderweb Chat Room
Avernum RPSummariesOoCRoster
Shadow Vale - My site, home of the Spiderweb Chat Database, BoA Scenario Database, & the A1 Quest List, among other things.
Posts: 1556 | Registered: Sunday, November 20 2005 08:00
Shaper
Member # 247
Profile Homepage #6
Yea I just did a bit of play testing in A3. The combat is not bearable. 2 seconds to finish swinging a sword is way too much.

--------------------
The Knight Between Posts.
Posts: 2395 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 6785
Profile #7
The only Avernum games that have been upgraded to Universal were BoA and A4. Jeff only upgraded A1 and A2 to OS X last year, so it may be a while before he does it to Universal.
Posts: 4643 | Registered: Friday, February 10 2006 08:00
Lifecrafter
Member # 6700
Profile Homepage #8
quote:
Originally written by Tyranicus:

It's kind of fate that they run better in emulated Windows than in OS X. :P
FYT.
:D

--------------------
The Silent Assassin runs better on concrete than sand. He tried to find a way to run on water once.
Suffice to say, the mishap with the sulfuric acid reaction wasn't pretty.

--------------------
-Lenar Labs
What's Your Destiny?

Ushmushmeifa: Lenar's power is almighty and ineffable.

All hail lord Noric, god of... well, something important, I'm sure.
Posts: 735 | Registered: Monday, January 16 2006 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #9
I could sort of stand the lag when not in combat mode, but when i started combat... sheez! I remember very well how it was to cast a fire ball: woooooooooooooooooosh instead of woosh. get the point?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00