how do I edit?

AuthorTopic: how do I edit?
Lifecrafter
Member # 7557
Profile #0
I just got the A4 editor and all I got is a few TEXT files. what have I done wrong/right?

I need a walkthrough.

--------------------
The force is with ME! I'm not so sure about YOU!

Trust me, you do not want to click this link
Posts: 942 | Registered: Sunday, October 8 2006 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 335
Profile Homepage #1
There should be a readme with the editor. You replace the relevant data files with the new editor files and then talk to the right character (the cook in Fort Monastery, I think).

—Alorael, who wouldn't think of it as an editor like previous Avernums. It's more of a script that gives some characters new dialogue that in turn allows you to alter characters in an illicit fashion.
Posts: 14579 | Registered: Saturday, December 1 2001 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 6785
Profile #2
The editors are very limited in that they can only increase certain stats and give you items. The Spiderweb created editors allow you to remove items and conditions (Dread Curse) and do more controlled changes of the characters (additions and subtractions).

Make sure you have saved copies of the particular scripts before you replace them with the editor version.
Posts: 4643 | Registered: Friday, February 10 2006 08:00
Lifecrafter
Member # 7557
Profile #3
all I got was a folder with a lot of really strange code lines like:[TALK] I guess I owe you for that goblin[end TALK]or something like that.

and a folder with a few retangles and a pair of 2's

???????????????

help me out here!

--------------------
The force is with ME! I'm not so sure about YOU!

Trust me, you do not want to click this link
Posts: 942 | Registered: Sunday, October 8 2006 07:00
Councilor
Member # 6600
Profile Homepage #4
Originally by Nija_Halycron:

quote:
all I got was a folder with a lot of really strange code lines like:[TALK] I guess I owe you for that goblin[end TALK]or something like that.
I'm assuming that's a file named z60monasterdlg. That's the one you want.

Open up the Script folder (probably in the Data folder), remove the file named z60monasterdlg, and put it in a safe place as back-up. Then move the z60monasterdlg that you downloaded into the Script folder. After that, you should be able to use the editor when you talk to the cook in the kitchen.

Dikiyoba.

Edit: Fixed quote.

[ Thursday, November 16, 2006 06:31: Message edited by: Dikiyoba ]
Posts: 4346 | Registered: Friday, December 23 2005 08:00
Lifecrafter
Member # 7557
Profile #5
*hops up and down*

YEEEEEEEESSSS!!!!!!!!

thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyoutthankyou

now I can make that avatar I've been waiting for!

did I mention how grateful i am?

--------------------
The force is with ME! I'm not so sure about YOU!

Trust me, you do not want to click this link
Posts: 942 | Registered: Sunday, October 8 2006 07:00
BANNED
Member # 6762
Profile #6
How do you edit? I've talked to the stupid cook, but nothing.

--------------------
Don't be a noob, PLAY RUNESCAPE

-SO i can pwn you-add me
or if your smart
-Save yourself and let them suffer
Posts: 123 | Registered: Friday, February 3 2006 08:00
Councilor
Member # 6600
Profile Homepage #7
Have you downloaded the editor and followed the instructions in my earlier post? And are you on the main level of Fort Monastary instead of downstairs in the tutorial area? Those are the only two problems I can think of.

Dikiyoba.
Posts: 4346 | Registered: Friday, December 23 2005 08:00