Avernum 5 ?

AuthorTopic: Avernum 5 ?
Apprentice
Member # 11048
Profile #0
Hi,
Will Avernum 5 or any mac version spiderweb games for that matter, run on a pc that is using Mac OSX as an O/S ??
Sorry, if this is a dumb question, i know that pc's and macs use opposite Endian formats but as you now get Intel macs, this makes me wonder if OSX converts the Endian format depending what chip its running on, acting as an emulator ?? Either that or if i run an emulator like Basilisk2 or PearPC, (which both require OSX and run on PC's) will the mac versions of spiderweb games ( Specifically Avernum 5 ) then run a pc ??
Posts: 8 | Registered: Wednesday, October 10 2007 07:00
Warrior
Member # 6934
Profile #1
I can only do some guessing here, since I never tried it out, but still:

1.) Avernum 5 runs on Mac OS X and doesn't really care if it's OS X on a PPC or Intel platform (it's Universal Binary) - BTW: OS 10.4 has been coded to run native on both platforms. It's not emulated on either.

2.) If you can get OS X to run on a PC (albeit with emulation software) I don't see why Avernum 5 (or any other Mac OS X compatible Spiderweb game) shouldn't.

3.) The endian format is something the emulator has to handle (and has been doing since the dawn of virtual PC). Performance may be sluggish due to this 'translation' on the fly, but it should run on a decent platform.

4.) When in doubt try it out. Download the demo and hack away.

--------------------
Always be true to yourself - unless you suck
Posts: 183 | Registered: Sunday, March 19 2006 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #2
I never heard of a PC running Mac OS X, but I guess it should work fine in Mac OSX, doesn't matter what the OS is running on.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.
Co-designed with Nikki: El Presidente.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Warrior
Member # 8131
Profile Homepage #3
There are ways to hack around it to get it installed on other x86 hardware but it violates the terms of the license of the OS software which in a nutshell says you're only allowed to install this on a Macintosh.

But the game is a UB, as long as you can boot the Mac OS, you should be able to run Avernum 5.

--------------------
http://www.goozex.com/trading/asp/join.asp?idr=412684821
alexkaltsas.com
Posts: 145 | Registered: Sunday, February 18 2007 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 6489
Profile Homepage #4
quote:
Originally written by Thralni:

I never heard of a PC running Mac OS X, but I guess it should work fine in Mac OSX, doesn't matter what the OS is running on.
OSx86

--------------------
"Dumbledore returns from the dead and declares it to be hammertime, Harry proceeds to break it down, Voldemort is unable to touch this." —Dintiradan
Spiderweb Chat Room
Avernum RPSummariesOoCRoster
Shadow Vale - My site, home of the Spiderweb Chat Database, BoA Scenario Database, & the A1 Quest List, among other things.
Posts: 1556 | Registered: Sunday, November 20 2005 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 11048
Profile #5
Many thanks for the info Locmaar, i knew that OSX could run on a pc, i just don't know anything about macs or Intel macs (well, macs period) and how they work/ their architecture.

Thralni, i know a few people who have had OSX running on their pc's, all seem to accomplished it in different ways, one of them told me that they used a genuine mac OSX installation disk, borrowed from a friend and used it as is, not hacking or other software involved, some have used a so called 'special' pc installation disk of OSX and others use pearpc or basilisk2. I myself have never tried any of them, but i am going to give it a go :) Hopefully it will work, not sure which method to use, or which one gives the best performance, trial and error i suppose.
Posts: 8 | Registered: Wednesday, October 10 2007 07:00