advice for shaper progression

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: advice for shaper progression
Apprentice
Member # 5796
Profile #0
I'm new to G3 and spiderweb games in general, so I'm after advice for where to put my points as I level up as a shaper.

currently I'm spreading them evenly around, is this a valid tactic or am I much better off focusing on one or two creation (like magic and healing) abilties? same goes for magic?

at present I'm using a single creation (thahd or artila, then I use Greta and Alwin (sp?) and my shaper throws battle magic and heals with the remaining essence I have left over.

some tips for effective play would be most welcome!

-sm
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #1
It's best to concentrate mainly on one or two types of shaping skill, although there's nothing wrong with putting a couple of points into all of them. Focusing on Fire Shaping early on and Magic Shaping toward the endgame works fairly well.

Don't invest too heavily in Battle Magic; you're not likely to ever be great magically-speaking, especially with creations limiting your essence supply, so you'll get more bang for your buck out of some Blessing Magic to help your creations along. If you really want to pump a lot of skill points into magic, you'll probably have to focus mostly on one type of shaping to save skill points -- something has to give somewhere.

Armed combat skills aren't much use for a shaper, although missile weapons are feasible if you really want to send a few points that way.

You'll need lots of points in Intelligence for essence; you can afford to neglect the other primary stats, since your creations should be doing most of the fighting for you anyway.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Electric Sheep One
Member # 3431
Profile #2