BoA slow

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: BoA slow
Apprentice
Member # 4354
Profile #0
Set aside that I am a big fan of all avernum games and of their programmer, I was wondering why Avernum after Avernum the game keeps getting slower and slower. I mean, on a reasonably good computer the Avernum games should go really fast: there are almost no animations...

As soon as there is a 5*5 pixel explosion the game slows! When it has to play a sound it slows! When it has to calculate the damage you made it slows! I mean, what kind of RandomNumberGenerator is Vogel using :D ??

Ok there is the scripting language that might be heavy but... I have some experience programming (radicalrebound.com, hint hint...) and I don't really think the computations involved can take so much time...

oh well, time to buy a new mac...
Guardian
Member # 2238
Profile Homepage #1
Sadly, I can't think of a possible explanation for this. I won't attempt to insult your intelligence by telling you to exit all other running programs, but MAYBE that's your problem. You should perhaps bring this up in the Tech Support area.

Other than that, I can't help you seeing as I don't have this problem. Then again, I have a real gaming machine.

--------------------
DEMON PLAY,
DEMON OUT!
Posts: 1582 | Registered: Wednesday, November 13 2002 08:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #2
I have the same problem. All I can do is exit every other program BEFORE I start BoA (for some reason, it doesn't matter if I do it afterwards). I'm on OS X, and the games that run in Classic mode (A1, A2) run much faster for me than the ones that run OS X native, which seems backwards.

(I do the same thing with A3, by the way.)

[ Thursday, May 06, 2004 14:39: Message edited by: Kelandon ]

--------------------