A. Micael : I must be stupid!

Pages

AuthorTopic: A. Micael : I must be stupid!
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #0
DELETED WHAT WAS HERE, SINCE IT'S NO LONGER NEEDED.

- Archmagus Micael

The questions that were here were these:

1) Is there a higher door lock than 17013 that would be sensible.

2) When using the call move_to_new_town(t,x,y), my party's outdoor loc doesn't change.

[ Sunday, October 09, 2005 03:34: Message edited by: Archmagus Micael ]

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 4153
Profile Homepage #1
Uh... practically speaking, a level 200 door lock will send the message that it's not supposed to be opened. I believe you've gone a bit far with that.

As for your teleportation problem, it looks like it should work, as long as there's a town entrance set up for each of the towns you're teleporting to. Otherwise, the game won't notice that the party's outdoor location has changed.

So, if you don't have an entrance specified in the outdoors for the target towns, you might need to use change_outdoor_location(short what_section_x, short what_section_y, short loc_in_sector_x, short loc_in_sector_y). It's a weird call, really. But it kind of works.

I hope that made sense, and good luck with your scenario. Don't forget to test it...

--------------------
Gamble with Gaea, and she eats your dice.

I hate undead. I really, really, really, really hate undead. With a passion.
Posts: 4130 | Registered: Friday, March 26 2004 08:00
Agent
Member # 5814
Profile #2
It's also probably a good idea to standardize the coding, so it all fits one style.

--------------------
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon
Well, I'm at least pretty

Posts: 1115 | Registered: Sunday, May 15 2005 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #3
You can also just change the door script to make a lock of 200 genuinely impenetrable. It's not too hard to make it just not run either the pick lock or the bash door if a memory cell is set to 200.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #4
For testing purposes, though, it might actually be better to leave level-200 doors openable by a god party, at least until the final release.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #5
Thanks!

I'll add the call when I have the time.

Also, I don't want Gods to be able to open it. And with the 3D editor, it lets me put doors over 200, unlike the standard one. This makes sure that you won't be able to open it - ever!

And for testing purposes, if people really need to access certain doors, I'll just make a custom item which opens all doors in a town.

It aught to work.

Plus, one more question. In combat mode, my testing party (testing it as it gets made) can skip past certain of my states. I've heard that there is a code to prevent this, but I don't know it - or how well it works...

Thanks again!

- Archmagus Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #6
I'm assuming you're talking about the end-combat bug, which places parties across special rectangles and therefore doesn't call them. If so, the way to prevent this is to use the call change_blocked.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #7
Ephesos is right - use the call change_outdoor_location.

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #8
Thanks! Will do.

Also, one more question: (again)

Has anyone made a custom Syntax file for Crimson Editor. I was just downloading the latest version, and I noticed that it allows custom syntax files.

So has anoyone here made one for AvernumScript?

Here's what it says on the CE website:
quote:

Syntax Highlighting for HTML, C/C++, Perl, Java, Matlab and LaTeX. Also, it can be extended for other programming languages based on custom syntax files.

Thanks!

- Archmagus Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #9
Use the C++ one; it's close enough.
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #10
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon:

I'm assuming you're talking about the end-combat bug, which places parties across special rectangles and therefore doesn't call them. If so, the way to prevent this is to use the call change_blocked.
Isn't it easier to just make a certain place blocked in the editor?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #11
You can do that, but if you make a space blocked in the editor there's no way to unblock it again if you need to (at least according to the documentation, which I admittedly wouldn't trust as far as I could throw).

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #12
Guys,

I want to make a custom monster which only blasts the party with the "Fireblast" Mage spell. How do I do this? I assume it's sometething to do with specifically saying what spells it can cast and how often or something, but I don't quite get how to do that...

:(

- Archmagus Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 932
Profile #13
void change_spell_level(short which_char,short mage_or_priest,short which_spell,short amt_to_change)Changes the skill character which_char knows spell which_spell by amt_to_change (which can be negative). If mage_or_priest is 0, changes mage spell. If 1, changes priest spell. If the character is a party member, he or she can only learn the spell if his or her mage or priest spells skill is high enough. If the skill isn’t high enough, this call has no effect.

--------------------
Microsoft Patents Ones, Zeroes (March 25, 1998)
"Asians are good at Starcraft because they're always squinting, thus they can see things sharply. Remember to always squint in war." ~ Sun-Tzu
Posts: 215 | Registered: Sunday, April 7 2002 08:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #14
The most sensible place to put that call, by the way, is in the INIT_STATE of the creature script. Then, you can use my_number() for the which_char argument.

Also, since spells default to level 2 for monsters, you want to change every spell except Fireblast by -2.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #15
Guys,

I'm pretty sure that Ive asked this question before (and got some helpful answers), but I can't seem to find it anywhere, so I'll ask again:

I want a bit where my party is split up (eg. the Vahnatai prisony place in A3), so that only one person can go through this secret passage at a time. What script would be best for me to use? (and why?)

AND

I want the party's items to be "confiscated" from them when they enter the town, yet they can find them again before they leave. (undamaged etc).

How do I do this?

- Archmagus Micael

[ Friday, October 07, 2005 11:04: Message edited by: Archmagus Micael ]

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 4153
Profile Homepage #16
I believe there's an entire section devoted to splitting up the party in the BoA Appendices. Look there first.

--------------------
Gamble with Gaea, and she eats your dice.

I hate undead. I really, really, really, really hate undead. With a passion.
Posts: 4130 | Registered: Friday, March 26 2004 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #17
I have, but I was just wondering if there was a "nicer" way to do it, rather than just that.

- Archmagus Micael]

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #18
So, wait, there's a call which exists for the specific purpose of splitting up the party, but you're wondering if there's a better way to split the party than the way specifically designed for the purpose of splitting the party? Well, the answer is no. :P

As for taking away the party's items in such a way that they can be given back later, the only way to do it is to kill the party, teleport them to somewhere where they can't reach their items, and resurrect them. The items will be left where the party dropped them.

[ Friday, October 07, 2005 19:06: Message edited by: Thuryl ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #19
quote:
Originally written by Thuryl:

As for taking away the party's items in such a way that they can be given back later, the only way to do it is to kill the party, teleport them to somewhere where they can't reach their items, and resurrect them. The items will be left where the party dropped them.
Will the party notice this?

- Archmagus Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #20
Isn't there a way, to let the game check what the party's items are before taking them away, and then let the game place replica's of those items somewhere in a dungeon where the party is at the moment?

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #21
quote:
Originally written by Thralni, emperor of Riverrod:

Isn't there a way, to let the game check what the party's items are before taking them away, and then let the game place replica's of those items somewhere in a dungeon where the party is at the moment?
I thought about that, but it wouldn't work with custom items from other scenarios.

- Archmagus Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #22
quote:
Originally written by Archmagus Micael:

Will the party notice this?
Yes, the player will most certainly notice if you kill and then revive their party. :P

You'll just have to find some way to make it not stand out too badly.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #23
quote:
Originally written by Archmagus Micael:

quote:
Originally written by Thralni, emperor of Riverrod:

Isn't there a way, to let the game check what the party's items are before taking them away, and then let the game place replica's of those items somewhere in a dungeon where the party is at the moment?
I thought about that, but it wouldn't work with custom items from other scenarios.

- Archmagus Micael

I didn't think of that... Hmmm...

Killing and reviving the party seems a bit strange in my opinion. So how did it work in nethergate then? There all your items are taken if you play the celts and are in the basement of the three crones.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #24
quote:
Originally written by Thuryl:

quote:
Originally written by Archmagus Micael:

Will the party notice this?
Yes, the player will most certainly notice if you kill and then revive their party. :P

You'll just have to find some way to make it not stand out too badly.

Hmm. I might make the dialog box say that you were tortured then.

Will this keep ALL of their items? (Because When I sometimes die, not all of my items remain(if three of my chars die on the same spot!).

- Archmagus Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00

Pages