The ins and outs of Teleportation
Author | Topic: The ins and outs of Teleportation |
---|---|
Warrior
Member # 5274
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 00:28
Profile
Hi, Lately i've been having some problems with the move_to_new_town call. When I use it as part of a node like example A below it works perfectly fine as it is intended to. But when I try to trigger a teleport by inserting the call inside a cutscene or right after a conversation with a character, for instance begin_talk_mode(); then move_to_new_town(); it doesn't function at all. My question is whether it is possible to trigger a move_to_new_town call without having the player step on a specific node. I've been bamboozled by this for a long time as I have two or three instances in my scenario where a flashback requires a shift in town scenery, at the moment I've finished the cutscenes but need to insert them so the narritive flows nicely. Any help would be appreciated. Example 1 (-normal functioning move_to_new_town call) beginstate 10; reset_dialog(); add_dialog_str(0,"The portal to your next assignment is shimmering with magical force. Perhaps it would be a good idea to enter before it drains its power source.",0); add_dialog_choice(0,"Enter."); add_dialog_choice(1,"Stay here."); choice = run_dialog(1); if (choice == 1) { play_sound(10); block_entry(1); move_to_new_town (4,10,4); } if (choice == 2) { end(); block_entry(1); } break; Example 2 -(Completely screwed up, oh my god what have I done wrong move_to_new_town call) text_bubble_on_char(42,""); text_bubble_on_char(44,"Rutland don't,"); force_instant_terrain_redraw(); pause(20); text_bubble_on_char(44,""); text_bubble_on_char(44,"It's not worth it"); force_instant_terrain_redraw(); pause(20); text_bubble_on_char(44,""); text_bubble_on_char(44,"I submit to your judgement my liege."); force_instant_terrain_redraw(); pause(20); set_total_visibility(0); move_to_new_town (4,10,4); set_flag(13,0,1); } break; -------------------- I assume my reputation for arrogant presumption precedes me Posts: 107 | Registered: Thursday, December 9 2004 08:00 |
...b10010b...
Member # 869
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 00:37
Profile
Homepage
Can't be done, I'm afraid. The only way to successfully call move_to_new_town is if it's called by the party stepping on a special rectangle. -------------------- The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure! Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00 |
Shock Trooper
Member # 5459
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 00:38
Profile
Homepage
Unfortunately, the call only works in one of those blue rectangle thingies. You're just going to have to figure a way to start that cutscene using the rectangles. Curses Thuryl! How dare you answer at the same time as me? [ Friday, September 23, 2005 00:39: Message edited by: Smoo ] -------------------- These are my scenarios. I may have too much free time but I really don't care. Backwater Calls, Magus of Cattalon, Rats Aplenty Get them here Visit The Lyceum for all your rating needs. Posts: 211 | Registered: Sunday, January 30 2005 08:00 |
Warrior
Member # 5274
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 04:46
Profile
Well that's just too bad. I think I'll have to find a cunning method to trigger teleportation without the player having to directly intervent and step on a node. Mad Ambition and Bahssikava seem to the most likely scenarios that would involve some variant on the player controlled method (still haven't played Bahs) so I might just have a poke through their scripts. [ Friday, September 23, 2005 04:48: Message edited by: Poit ] -------------------- I assume my reputation for arrogant presumption precedes me Posts: 107 | Registered: Thursday, December 9 2004 08:00 |
Master
Member # 5977
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 06:05
Profile
Homepage
It really can't be done? teleportation after a cutscene? That's really too bad. I'm sure I did see somewhere, although i can't remember where exactly, that I saw it happen. -------------------- Play and rate my scenarios: Where the rivers meet View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape. Give us your drek! Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00 |
...b10010b...
Member # 869
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 06:13
Profile
Homepage
You can do it after a cutscene, but only if that cutscene is triggered by the party stepping into a special rectangle. If it's triggered by something else -- like, say, using an item, or activating a terrain script -- then you can't move the party to a new town afterwards. The cutscene itself doesn't matter as far as the move_to_new_town call is concerned. You can put any code you want before move_to_new_town -- it's how the state is triggered that's the important part. (Incidentally, it's perfectly okay to teleport the party within a town at any time. It's only when you try to move them between towns that you have to worry about how the state is called.) [ Friday, September 23, 2005 06:16: Message edited by: Theriac ] -------------------- The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure! Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00 |
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 06:15
Profile
Homepage
Thralni, since you seem to have missed the details: teleportation after a cut scene can happen, but that cut scene has to have been called from a special rectangle, not from anything else (like a terrain script, a creature script, or a START_STATE). Bahs has a few places that dodge this, like the very first cut scene in town 1. EDIT: As Thuryl said. [ Friday, September 23, 2005 06:18: Message edited by: Kelandon ] -------------------- Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens. Smoo: Get ready to face the walls! Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr. Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00 |
Master
Member # 5977
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 06:23
Profile
Homepage
Okay, sorry, sometimes I just read to fast and miss some things. Thanks for clarifying though. It saved me. -------------------- Play and rate my scenarios: Where the rivers meet View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape. Give us your drek! Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00 |
Infiltrator
Member # 4256
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 06:27
Profile
Could it be done by first teleporting them into the special rectangle? Or do they actually have to 'step' in it? -------------------- "Let's just say that if complete and utter chaos was lightning, he'd be the sort to stand on a hilltop in a thunderstorm wearing wet copper armour and shouting 'All gods are false'." Posts: 564 | Registered: Wednesday, April 14 2004 07:00 |
Master
Member # 5977
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 06:31
Profile
Homepage
I think you probably really need to step on it. As was just stated, teleportation from a dialogue node wouldn't work, so teleporting them on a special rectangle would probably also not work, I guess. -------------------- Play and rate my scenarios: Where the rivers meet View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape. Give us your drek! Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00 |
Law Bringer
Member # 4153
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 10:15
Profile
Homepage
You definitely have to make them step on it. I've tried the "teleport them onto the square" approach, and it doesn't work. -------------------- Gamble with Gaea, and she eats your dice. I hate undead. I really, really, really, really hate undead. With a passion. Posts: 4130 | Registered: Friday, March 26 2004 08:00 |
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 11:58
Profile
Homepage
You can teleport them onto a space that is surrounded by special rectangles and use force_view_center to keep the party out of sight, though. -------------------- Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens. Smoo: Get ready to face the walls! Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr. Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00 |
? Man, ? Amazing
Member # 5755
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 12:09
Profile
Can the cutscene move the party onto a blue rectangle? I guess the question is if the engine will check for specials while already in a cutscene node. *this message needs a sponsor* -------------------- quote: Posts: 4114 | Registered: Monday, April 25 2005 07:00 |
Law Bringer
Member # 4153
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 12:42
Profile
Homepage
It will NOT check for special encounters when in cutscene mode. That would probably have made things too complicated, engine-wise. -------------------- Gamble with Gaea, and she eats your dice. I hate undead. I really, really, really, really hate undead. With a passion. Posts: 4130 | Registered: Friday, March 26 2004 08:00 |
Warrior
Member # 5274
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 18:36
Profile
quote:That's actually one of the first things I tried but i still couldn't get it to work properly. For instance the party would walk into a room and step on a node. This node would then start the cutscene, a few NPC's would say lines and then begin_talk_mode(); would kick into effect with one specific NPC, starting an indepth conversation. Once you hit "end conversation" then there was the move_to_new_town(); call. I could think of two possible reasons why this wouldn't work. Firstly its the actual begin_talk_mode(); that causes the problem. Once you have had a dialogue conversation does that mean the node that initiated it is finished and unable to be restarted? Secondly if the problem wasn't the conversation itself it could be the way I ended it. For instance maybe action = END_TALK; and state = (one number); nextstate = (identical number); lead to different script results once the conversation is terminated. Is there a right way and a wrong way to end a conversation so that the script progresses? quote:That's an intersting suggestion. If it turns out begin_talk_mode(); prevents a move_to_new_town(); call from completing afterward I may redesign my town and use this method. By the way have you used this successfully before in any of your scenarios? -------------------- I assume my reputation for arrogant presumption precedes me Posts: 107 | Registered: Thursday, December 9 2004 08:00 |
...b10010b...
Member # 869
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 18:47
Profile
Homepage
Ah, yeah. The problem's almost certainly the begin_talk_mode(). You'll just have to do whatever dialogue you need through dialog boxes and the cutscene itself. -------------------- The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure! Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00 |
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
|
written Friday, September 23 2005 20:10
Profile
Homepage
quote:Other than the force_view_center part, the first few cut scenes in Bahssikava all work according this principle. -------------------- Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens. Smoo: Get ready to face the walls! Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr. Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00 |
Master
Member # 5977
|
written Saturday, September 24 2005 04:48
Profile
Homepage
quote:Now I finally manage to understand how you made it work with all these towns. I as a newbie (I hate that word) Regurly look back at other designer's towns. I saw multiple towns that atcually formed one story. After doing that, I played a bit of the scenario, and saw some things that actually were situated in different towns. Now i know how it works, thanks. Just one minor question: How big should that rectangle exactly be? Probably as larg as the party is? -------------------- Play and rate my scenarios: Where the rivers meet View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape. Give us your drek! Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00 |
...b10010b...
Member # 869
|
written Saturday, September 24 2005 05:11
Profile
Homepage
You actually need several different rectangles surrounding the party, so that the party can be placed in such a way that they're not actually in a rectangle but can't go far without moving into one. -------------------- The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure! Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00 |
Warrior
Member # 246
|
written Thursday, October 13 2005 23:37
Profile
quote:I don't see the point in Jeff not allowing this at any time. What would be his motive? :confused: Posts: 117 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00 |
...b10010b...
Member # 869
|
written Friday, October 14 2005 00:00
Profile
Homepage
Apparently it's likely to be a limitation inherent in the way the engine handles towns. Allowing move_to_new_town at other times could potentially cause serious bugs. [ Friday, October 14, 2005 00:02: Message edited by: Thuryl ] -------------------- The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure! Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00 |
Infiltrator
Member # 3040
|
written Friday, October 14 2005 14:25
Profile
quote:That's right. It has to do with the order in which the engine handles nodes and scripts. A lot of code would have to be rewritten to accomodate this. Which is no excuse for Jeff not to do it, though. -------------------- 5.0.1.0.0.0.0.1.0... Posts: 508 | Registered: Thursday, May 29 2003 07:00 |