Display partie's location

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Display partie's location
Warrior
Member # 5289
Profile #0
Windows BoA doesn't have the menu to indicate the location where the party stands on.

How about making a pattern on the floor changing floor type? It'll help to count the coordinate mesh. For example, change floor type every five line or dot.

IMAGE(http://homepage2.nifty.com/Notus/FloorPattern.jpg)

Another approach is making a custom item which indicates coordinate on the text area.

'your_scenario_name'data.txt
beginscendatascript;
begindefineitem 450;
clear;
it_name = "Compass";
it_full_name = "GPS Compass";
it_variety = 21;
it_floor_which_sheet = 1027; // from hour glass
it_floor_which_icon = 1;
it_inventory_icon = 1;
it_ability_1 = 207;
it_ability_str_1 = 10; // state number to be called
it_value = 10;
it_weight = 1;
it_identified = 1;


'your_scenario_name'.txt
beginscenarioscript;
variables;
string cood_string;
body;
....
beginstate 10; // should be matched the state number defined in custom item
clear_buffer();
append_string("(");
append_number(char_loc_x(who_used_custom_item()));
append_string(", ");
append_number(char_loc_y(who_used_custom_item()));
append_string(")");
get_buffer_text(cood_string);
print_str(cood_string);
break;


[ Friday, March 04, 2005 08:13: Message edited by: Notus ]

--------------------
Project: BoA Editor Remake on SourceForge.net
supports "3D BoA Editor" (Mac and Win), and creates advanced BoA Editor.
Posts: 107 | Registered: Tuesday, December 14 2004 08:00
Infiltrator
Member # 148
Profile #1
Or just create a special ability. Saves an item slot.

--------------------
My ego is bigger than yours.
Posts: 480 | Registered: Thursday, October 11 2001 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #2
I like the special ability idea. This will be implemented for the next version of Bahs. The main code is here:

beginstate 18;
change_custom_abil_uses(who_used_custom_abil(),2,1);

i = 0;
while (i <= 5) {
if (char_ok(i)) {
clear_buffer();
append_string("Character number ");
append_number(i);
append_string(" is located at (");
append_number(char_loc_x(i));
append_string(",");
append_number(char_loc_y(i));
append_string(")");
get_buffer_text(dlgstr);
print_str(dlgstr);
}
i = i + 1;
}
break;


--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #3
I find it vaguely amusing that special abilities are being used mostly for preferences and other user interface improvements instead of scenario-related features. Not that it isn't usually a more productive use of them than the intended use, but still.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Cartographer
Member # 995
Profile #4
Personally, I've seen special abilities used twice. Once in practice, once in theory.

In practice, Kel provided a special ability when Phaedra is in your party to identify items.

In theory, Kel is providing a special ability for an "interface improvement" later.

50% may be a lot, but the sample size is so small that I wonder why you're using the word "mostly"
Posts: 206 | Registered: Thursday, April 18 2002 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #5
Canopy and Bahssikava also have Set Cutscene Speed abilities.

And Phaedra Identify is an interface improvement too, in a sense -- it's a workaround for the fact that you can't initiate dialogue with your NPCs.

The only custom special ability that really does something scenario-specific is the Unicorn Call in ZKR.

[ Friday, March 04, 2005 23:24: Message edited by: Thuryl ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Cartographer
Member # 995
Profile #6
okiedokie. that makes sense.
Posts: 206 | Registered: Thursday, April 18 2002 07:00
Warrior
Member # 5415
Profile #7
Ok, so... Why is it important to be able to display the party's location? Is this just to provide any easy way to follow a FAQ giving the walkthrough on how to solve the scenario?
Posts: 62 | Registered: Thursday, January 20 2005 08:00
Warrior
Member # 5289
Profile #8
Why isn't it a good reason?
Anyway, floor pattern or locator item/ability will provide a good assistance on alignment, even if you would solve the puzzle without FAQ or a walkthrough. Even on Mac that has the locator menu.
Player can choose (s)he uses it or not.

--------------------
Project: BoA Editor Remake on SourceForge.net
supports "3D BoA Editor" (Mac and Win), and creates advanced BoA Editor.
Posts: 107 | Registered: Tuesday, December 14 2004 08:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #9
A lot of people have been having trouble with the beam puzzles in Machinery, and Windows users can't use the walkthrough effectively because the walkthrough relies on coordinates. That's why I'm going to include this.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00