Linux: what flavour is your favourite?

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Linux: what flavour is your favourite?
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #0
I came across this website earlier this morning: http://toastytech.com/guis/index.html

It's a website containing the most popular of GUIs ever produced, and it's quite interesting to see the development of all these OSs, at leat I enjoyed looking at them. Anyway, when I got to the Linux section, it sparked my interest. I have been using Mac from the start, and Windows for four years now, yet I never used Linux. At this moment I'm downloading the free, 1 CD version of Linux Mandriva 2007. problem is, I don't know if that's a recommended version of Linux. So, all of you who work/have worked with Linux, what do you suggest? Also, should I just insert the CD with Linux on it into my Windows PC (Not my iMac!) and wait untill it boots Linux, or is there a certain procedure?

Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance.

[ Saturday, November 11, 2006 06:08: Message edited by: Thralni ]

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
His Mighty Tentacle
Member # 627
Profile #1
OSX is the best flavour of *nix.

No GNUs is good GNUs. :D

Edit.

Macside, there is a great linux distro called Yellow Dog Linux.

[ Saturday, November 11, 2006 07:20: Message edited by: Delicious Vlish ]

--------------------
If I could make just one wish, I would want a tasty vlish.

Geneforge IV. Still no tasty vlish.
Guardian
Member # 2476
Profile #2
Ever heard of Knoppix?
Knoppix

If you just want to get an impression of how a Linux system works, Knoppix boots from CD and doesn't have to be installed on your harddisk. It's a Debian based distribution.