Help with a Carbon program

AuthorTopic: Help with a Carbon program
Infiltrator
Member # 5576
Profile Homepage #0
I have made a utility program for previewing the effects of different icon adjusts on a graphic. Unfortunately, when I compile it, the compiled application will only run on the computer it was compiled on. The program itself is a Mac OS X Carbon program, made in XCode. Can anyone recommend what do do to fix it?

--------------------
Überraschung des Dosenöffners!
Posts: 627 | Registered: Monday, March 7 2005 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #1
First I want to say i've absolutely no expertise in this stuff.

The second thing I want to say is that I suggest maybe using an other program like (was it called) codewarrior.

--------------------
Thralni's almighty Avernum pages: My webpage, containing scenario's and graphics made by me (And maybe someday the homepage of the almighty chicken gods).

Click here for more information on Olga's fortune teller kiosk

Olga's fortune teller kiosk has been temporarily closed down, but you can contact the prophet with a PM - Was signed by the prophet of the almighty chicken gods, gods of everything that is a chicken.
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Agent
Member # 5814
Profile #2
The 3D editor is good enough for this already. Except it seems to round out colors to the closest ones on the BoA pallete, which if demonstrations are correct, BoA does not do...

Tell me Niemand, does it display the graphics exactly as they show up in BoA?
Posts: 1115 | Registered: Sunday, May 15 2005 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 5576
Profile Homepage #3
It displays them exactly as they appear in the 3D Editor, which is supposed to display them as they appear in the game. (I really don't know anything about that issue.) In fact, it literally uses the 3D Editor's graphics tinting function. Basically what the program does is let you select a sheet, then an icon from the sheet, and shows you what each of the 1024 possible adjusted versions looks like. I made it so that I can pick out the best ones, and compare them side by side.

[ Wednesday, August 10, 2005 09:10: Message edited by: Niemand ]

--------------------
Überraschung des Dosenöffners!
Posts: 627 | Registered: Monday, March 7 2005 08:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 4557
Profile #4
quote:
Originally written by Not I:

Except it seems to round out colors to the closest ones on the BoA pallete, which if demonstrations are correct, BoA does not do...

According to Isaac, the tinting code was obtained directly from Jeff so it most likely is not at fault. What you may be noticing is BoA's lighting engine, which the editor does not mimic.
Posts: 264 | Registered: Wednesday, June 16 2004 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 4153
Profile Homepage #5
Are you sure there aren't stray files somewhere which are needed by the program (i.e.: something in the System or Library folders)?

--------------------
Gamble with Gaea, and she eats your dice.

I hate undead. I really, really, really, really hate undead. With a passion.
Posts: 4130 | Registered: Friday, March 26 2004 08:00
Infiltrator
Member # 5576
Profile Homepage #6
As far as I know it references no files other than those bundled with it; I made it and all of the files involved except the standard carbon libraries. I even tried taking off the custom icon because I thought that this might be the problem.

Edit: fixed dumb mistake

[ Wednesday, August 10, 2005 16:07: Message edited by: Niemand ]

--------------------
Überraschung des Dosenöffners!
Posts: 627 | Registered: Monday, March 7 2005 08:00
Skip to My Lou
Member # 40
Profile Homepage #7
I suggest taking your Carbon program and compressing it rather thoroughly. Eventually it will turn into a Diamond program, which should be easier to use.

--------------------
Take the Personality Test! INTJ 100% 75% 100% 44%
Huzzah for the Masterminds!
www.Keirsey.com for personality information.
The Sloganizer! "Swing your Archmage Alex."
Deep down, you wish you were a stick figure.
Posts: 1629 | Registered: Wednesday, October 3 2001 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 5576
Profile Homepage #8
Unfortunately I've tried compressing it already and all I get is an archive. I guess I need heavier duty compression software to make one of those Diamond programs. Drat!

--------------------
Überraschung des Dosenöffners!
Posts: 627 | Registered: Monday, March 7 2005 08:00
Master
Member # 4614
Profile Homepage #9
You could always just compress it down to something like
int main()
{
return true;
}
and call it good. Enough of a diamond for me. ;)

--------------------
-ben4808

For those who love to spam:
CSM Forums
RIFQ
Posts: 3360 | Registered: Friday, June 25 2004 07:00
Post Navel Trauma ^_^
Member # 67
Profile Homepage #10
Ben: return 0 would be better.

Topic starter: It won't run on OS 9, no matter what, with XCode. If it won't run on other OS X computers, try making sure that you have set the build style to "deployment".

--------------------
Barcoorah: I even did it to a big dorset ram.

desperance.net - Don't follow this link
Posts: 1798 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Master
Member # 4614
Profile Homepage #11
quote:
Originally written by Khoth:

Ben: return 0 would be better.
But that would be false. You obviously want to return true so you know that this once-awesome program has completed successfully, instead of just completed. ;) Or, if a little decompaction is allowed, you could go:
int main()
{
bool return_value = true;
bool success = return_value;
if(success)
{
cout<<"A true diamond of a program!";
}
else
{
cout<<"Darn, failed :(";
}
return 0;
}


--------------------
-ben4808

For those who love to spam:
CSM Forums
RIFQ
Posts: 3360 | Registered: Friday, June 25 2004 07:00
Post Navel Trauma ^_^
Member # 67
Profile Homepage #12
Returning 0 does mean success. Returning nonzero (such as true) means failure.

--------------------
Barcoorah: I even did it to a big dorset ram.

desperance.net - Don't follow this link
Posts: 1798 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Master
Member # 4614
Profile Homepage #13
Yeah, I suppose you're right as far as most applications go.

--------------------
-ben4808

For those who love to spam:
CSM Forums
RIFQ
Posts: 3360 | Registered: Friday, June 25 2004 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 5576
Profile Homepage #14
quote:
Originally written by Khoth:
If it won't run on other OS X computers, try making sure that you have set the build style to "deployment".
Ok, I give up; how do I set the build style? I've looked everywhere I can think of, and I can't find it.

EDIT: Ok, never mind; after searching for 2 days I found it myself.

[ Monday, August 15, 2005 18:08: Message edited by: Niemand ]

--------------------
Überraschung des Dosenöffners!
Posts: 627 | Registered: Monday, March 7 2005 08:00