The Universe

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).

Pages

AuthorTopic: The Universe
Electric Sheep One
Member # 3431
Profile #100
Dammit, Jim, I'm a physicist, not an oncologist.

I believe, though, that the crucial feature of a tumor is that it manages to fill itself with blood vessels that connect to the rest of the network, so that its interior cells get supplied with oxygen. Without that nasty capability, a mere mass of cells could not keep on growing, because the inner ones would starve and die.

So since the universe does not seem to have any blood vessels, or anything like them, I'd say the tumor model is a bit off.

--------------------
It is not enough to discover how things seem to seem. We must discover how things really seem.
Posts: 3335 | Registered: Thursday, September 4 2003 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #101
quote:
Originally written by Student of Trinity:

Dammit, Jim, I'm a physicist, not an oncologist.

I believe, though, that the crucial feature of a tumor is that it manages to fill itself with blood vessels that connect to the rest of the network, so that its interior cells get supplied with oxygen. Without that nasty capability, a mere mass of cells could not keep on growing, because the inner ones would starve and die.

So since the universe does not seem to have any blood vessels, or anything like them, I'd say the tumor model is a bit off.

Since this has turned into the topic where we all show off our scientific knowledge, I may as well say that there are actually 6 features that nearly all types of malignant tumour must have: