Scenario Editorn

AuthorTopic: Scenario Editorn
Apprentice
Member # 8491
Profile #0
Hi

I was woundring if anyone, could make it so you can have more terrain types. Default you can only have 241 diffrentin in one scenarion. Is it possible to chance it so that you can have more?
( with more wall sets ect...)

And add all kinds of graphics into the "Blades of Exile graphics" (Terrain, dialog, monsters, items, as much as it's able 2)

And one more thing, making so that you can have Vhanatais in your party ;) ...

If you do so, e-mail me at: sulfras@hotmail.com[/url]
(let me know)

[ Thursday, August 09, 2007 11:10: Message edited by: keeper off ]
Posts: 7 | Registered: Friday, April 13 2007 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 4784
Profile Homepage #1
Anyone can add graphics into their scenario. Read up on the documentation to learn how.

Increasing the number of terrains would be something to put onto the OBoE suggestion list. I'm not sure if it can be done.

As for having a Vahnati in your party, there is a way to change the default graphics so you can look like one.

Copy the file pcs.bmp into a different folder or put it on the desktop. You should find it in the 'blscened' folder. Open it with paint or something similar and overlay the graphics you want on the graphics you don't want. Put the original pcs.bmp into a folder labeled 'original pcs' or something like that and then put the edited pcs.bmp in it's place.

It's easy enough for your own playing but if you want it to be story neccessary for your own scenario, that's a whole 'nother can of worms.

[ Thursday, August 09, 2007 12:51: Message edited by: Jewel ]

--------------------
Forever Always on Past the End

TrueSite for Blades - Blades Walkthroughs
Pixle Profusion - BoE Graphics Archive
Posts: 563 | Registered: Tuesday, July 27 2004 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 8491
Profile #2
Can you tell me how it's done for a mac user?? :confused:

Prehaps anyone could explain how a little bit more how it's done (the blades scenario editor docs just confuses me even more)

If i make a scenario called "swords.exe" Then the custom graphic should be called "swords.meg", right?

And where can you fine that OBoe suggestions list?

[ Thursday, August 09, 2007 13:22: Message edited by: keeper off ]
Posts: 7 | Registered: Friday, April 13 2007 07:00
The Establishment
Member # 6
Profile #3
quote:
If i make a scenario called "swords.exe" Then the custom graphic should be called "swords.meg", right?
Yes.

--------------------
Your flower power is no match for my glower power!
Posts: 3726 | Registered: Tuesday, September 18 2001 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #4
quote:
Vhanatais
quote:
Vahnati
... it's spelled Vanihattitai.

[ Saturday, August 11, 2007 05:34: Message edited by: root ]

--------------------
The Noble and Most Ancient Order of Polaris - We're Not Yet Dead.
EncyclopaediaArchivesMembersRSS [Topic / Forum] • BlogNaNoWriMo
Did-chat thentagoespyet jumund fori is jus, hat onlime gly nertan ne gethen Firyoubbit 'obio.'
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 8491
Profile #5
Vahnatai, whatever...
Posts: 7 | Registered: Friday, April 13 2007 07:00
Agent
Member # 1934
Profile Homepage #6
Ignore Aran (root). He's just making a bad joke at your expense.

--------------------
You acquire an item: Radio Free Foil
Posts: 1169 | Registered: Monday, September 23 2002 07:00
Shaper
Member # 73
Profile #7
keeper off, you realize that it says at the bottom of your post that you edited it three days after the fact, right? "Vahnatai" is both singular and plural, by the way.

Normally I wouldn't be making fun of you for that, but I think you asked for it when you tried to tell us it was spelled right all along when it was obvious that it wasn't. :P

EDIT: Changed "you didn't" to "it wasn't".

[ Monday, August 13, 2007 06:02: Message edited by: The Almighty Do-er of Stuff ]

--------------------
My Myspace, with some of my audial and visual art
The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community
The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database
Alexandria - The Blades of Exile Scenario database
BoE Webring - Self explanatory
Polaris - Free porn here
Odd Todd - Fun for the unemployed (and everyone else too)
They Might Be Giants - Four websites for one of the greatest bands in existance
--------------------
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 4784
Profile Homepage #8
Drizzt's BoE site has a good resource for those who are just starting out. Click on the basics and then on custom graphics. It should explain thigs well enough.

If you are still having trouble, ask specific questions for your immediate problem. Your last one was good (and answered quickly by *i you might note).

Good luck with your designing.

--------------------
Forever Always on Past the End

TrueSite for Blades - Blades Walkthroughs
Pixle Profusion - BoE Graphics Archive
Posts: 563 | Registered: Tuesday, July 27 2004 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 10488
Profile #9
quote:
Originally written by Jewel:


As for having a Vahnatai in your party, there is a way to change the default graphics so you can look like one.

Copy the file pcs.bmp into a different folder or put it on the desktop. You should find it in the 'blscened' folder. Open it with paint or something similar and overlay the graphics you want on the graphics you don't want. Put the original pcs.bmp into a folder labeled 'original pcs' or something like that and then put the edited pcs.bmp in it's place.

Keeper off: on the Mac, you'll need a resource editor such as Rezilla (ResEdit if you still use Classic :) ). I'll assume you're using Rezilla, although the process is probably the same for any other resource editor.

From within Rezilla, open the file "Blades of Exile Graphics" (in the scenario editor folder). Make sure that you select the "resource fork" option at the bottom of the open dialog.Double-click on PICT (or click the little triangle).Find resource ID 902. Select it and copy.Paste into your favourite paint program, edit as Jewel said. Make sure it is in the upper left corner of the document (ideally the document should be the exact same size).Copy the edited sheet and return to Rezilla.Open resource 902 and paste in the new sheet. You're done!You should probably back up the file before doing this!
Posts: 334 | Registered: Friday, September 14 2007 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 8491
Profile #10
OK, thx, Rezilla workes fine :) . Better than GraphicConverter I used befor...
Posts: 7 | Registered: Friday, April 13 2007 07:00