General Enquiry

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: General Enquiry
Apprentice
Member # 6659
Profile #0
So, I have recently remembered how much I like Spiderweb Software games but until now I have been a poor student unable to afford them and had to make do with the demos. I am eagerly anticipating the Window's version of Avernum 4 and am thinking about actually buying the full game....BUT I have only ever played the demos of the previous 3 games and Blades of Avernum also.

My question is:

How important / worthwhile do you guys think it is to start at the beginning and understand what has led up to Avernum 4? Bearing in mind that it could take a while to play through 5 games.

Also, this isn't strictly related to Avernum 4, but are there any other games that are a must for playing? I have the full version of Geneforge 2 but I don't remember enjoying it as much as the Exile or Avernum series, but again I only played the demo versions.

I must just about be the furtherest (if thats a word) away Spiderweb Software fan as I live in New Zealand. For those of you that don't know where that is its Lord of the Rings, King Kong and Narnia country.
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #1
You'll find there are quite a few players from Australia and New Zealand here.

Anyway, in answer to your question, Avernum 4's manual includes a summary of most of what you need to know about the Avernum, so if you like A4's gameplay best then you won't miss too much plot by playing that first. On the other hand, some people prefer other Avernum games over A4, so decide which demo you like best before buying one.