A4 Causing Crashes

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: A4 Causing Crashes
Apprentice
Member # 5686
Profile #0
First off my specs:
1.25 GHz G4
256 MB SDRAM
eMac first generation

Basically, once I started playing A4, the computer would crash completely (you can only hard reboot with the power button) every three hours or so while playing. It wouldn't crash when I wasn't playing. At a random point, the screen gets scrambled and a few seconds later the computer gets completely frozen, ignoring keyboard and mouse.

Anyone else had this problem? I'm curious, as it seems to have affected my system as well. Whenever I do a large download outside of safe mode, the computer has the same thing happen to it.

I'm not completely sure the game is causing it, maybe the fact that it takes up 90% of my CPU during play has something to do with it. Either way, I need to get this fixed.
Shock Trooper
Member # 4239
Profile #1
If the same thing happens outside of the game, it's pretty much impossible that the game is causing it.

As for what's actually causing the problem....well, it sounds like a dying video card at first glance (scrambled screen) or overheating problems. But neither of those seem very likely in an old eMac. :confused:

--------------------
There are two kinds of game players...those who are newbies, and those who were.
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #2
quote:
Originally written by SNM:

If the same thing happens outside of the game, it's pretty much impossible that the game is causing it.
Not entirely true, given what he's describing.