SubTerra won't work! AAAAHHH!!!!!

AuthorTopic: SubTerra won't work! AAAAHHH!!!!!
Shaper
Member # 73
Profile #0
I downloaded the demo, and when I opened it, the Spiderweb Software logo appeared, and the guy walked across the bottom, and got the gems. Then it closed. I opened it again, and the same thing happened. Why is it doing this?

[ Wednesday, March 26, 2003 15:27: Message edited by: The Almighty Doer of Stuff ]

--------------------
My Myspace, with some of my audial and visual art
The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community
The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database
Alexandria - The Blades of Exile Scenario database
BoE Webring - Self explanatory
Polaris - Free porn here
Odd Todd - Fun for the unemployed (and everyone else too)
They Might Be Giants - Four websites for one of the greatest bands in existance
--------------------
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 335
Profile Homepage #1
I don't know, but I have exactly the same problem when trying to run SubTerra with Windows 95 on a Virtual PC-running Mac. I don't think this is really helpful, unless you are using VPC as well, in which case I can say with some certainty that you might as well give up.

—Alorael, who would like to know if there is a solution to this problem. Maybe he gave up too soon himself.
Posts: 14579 | Registered: Saturday, December 1 2001 08:00
Guardian
Member # 2339
Profile #2
A very similar thing happens when I try to use the latest Leylines install program, and I still wonder why it opens for 2 and a half seconds and then closes, without installing.

--------------------
-Zephyr Tempest, your personal entertainer
Posts: 1779 | Registered: Monday, December 9 2002 08:00
Shaper
Member # 73
Profile #3
A similar thing also happened when I downloaded Geneforge a while ago (I can't remember when. I think it was about a month ago.), only the screen just went completely black when I opened it, and stayed that way until I hit Ctrl+Alt+Del and closed it like that.

--------------------
My Myspace, with some of my audial and visual art
The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community
The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database
Alexandria - The Blades of Exile Scenario database
BoE Webring - Self explanatory
Polaris - Free porn here
Odd Todd - Fun for the unemployed (and everyone else too)
They Might Be Giants - Four websites for one of the greatest bands in existance
--------------------
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Guardian
Member # 2339
Profile #4
Hmmm.... that reminds me, if you press CTRL-ALT-ESC, it minimizes all programs. So many things have gone rogue.

UPDATE-woohoo! Leylines works for me now! Oh yeah!

[ Friday, March 28, 2003 16:11: Message edited by: The Great Daemon ]

--------------------
-Zephyr Tempest, your personal entertainer
Posts: 1779 | Registered: Monday, December 9 2002 08:00
Master Jeweller
Member # 409
Profile Homepage #5
Hello folks,

sorry for not responding earlier. But I don't read the tech support
forum all the time.

Anyway.
Doer of Stuff -> Unless you are using VPC as Alorael suggests, I
think this is a DirectX problem. However there will be an updated
version of SubTerra available shortly, which may fix the bug as well.
For the record, SubTerra doesn't officially support windows 95
even though it tends to work anyway.
I'm afraid Geneforge has nothing to do with it as there are very little
similarities between GF and ST. Apart from them both being great
games of course :)

Daemon -> You're saying the /installer/ crashes? That's really weird.
Could you tell me what you did to get out of this problem?

--------------------
Pieter Simoons, aka Radiant

Official Crystal Shard and SubTerra webpage
Posts: 798 | Registered: Monday, December 17 2001 08:00