Dialogue?
Pages
- 1
- 2
Author | Topic: Dialogue? |
---|---|
Lifecrafter
Member # 6193
|
written Thursday, March 8 2007 15:16
Profile
Homepage
1. Errors with missing breaks can often return strange line number errors, that's a possibility. It's also possible you have a typo in your script's very first line of code. 2. As for the bow-- you must have a reward_give() or char_give_item() call somewhere in there, probably in the init_state. There really isn't any other way an item can just be stuck into one's inventory. 3. If you alter a town's boundaries so that they are too close the the edge, it can make it impossible to leave town. Check that your town boundaries are at least 1 or 2 spaces from the edge. -------------------- Guaranteed to blow your mind. Frostbite: Get It While It's...... Hot? Posts: 900 | Registered: Monday, August 8 2005 07:00 |
Agent
Member # 8030
|
written Saturday, March 10 2007 11:36
Profile
Homepage
I've only been creating the towns themselves, and this is the only town script I have so far. Really it isn't anywhere near done, but the computer still reads it: begintownscript; variables; body; beginstate INIT_STATE; set_name(6,"Wallis"); set_name(8,"Rok"); set_name(9,"Ronald"); set_name(12,"Christian"); set_name(16,"Reeksamo"); set_name(17,"Sarg"); set_name(19,"Ringo"); set_name(20,"Kayla"); set_name(22,"Derek"); set_name(26,"Isssa"); set_name(27,"Kina-Bok"); set_name(34,"Orion"); set_name(35,"Harrow"); set_name(39,"Julie"); set_name(41,"Captain"); set_name(47,"Dahlia"); set_name(53,"Karl"); set_name(54,"Mack"); set_name(55,"Dorisss"); set_name(69,"Henry"); set_name(72,"Janis"); set_name(73,"Parth"); set_name(76,"Mark"); set_name(83,"Ari"); set_crime_tolerance(2); Thats a beginning, and I haven't found any spelling errors. I compared it to the scripts in other scenarios and it doesn't look like there is anything wrong. Also, I haven't put a script anywhere to give the party a reward, due to the fact that I've barely started. [ Saturday, March 10, 2007 11:38: Message edited by: Excalibur ] -------------------- WWJD? Posts: 1384 | Registered: Tuesday, February 6 2007 08:00 |
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
|
written Saturday, March 10 2007 12:02
Profile
Homepage
You need a "break" at the end of your INIT_STATE. You also need a START_STATE and an EXIT_STATE for BoA even to read your script. The easiest way to make a functioning script is to copy a short script from an existing scenario (say, t20Small Cave from VoDT) and delete everything inside the states without deleting the states themselves. -------------------- Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens. Smoo: Get ready to face the walls! Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr. Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00 |
Warrior
Member # 8176
|
written Saturday, March 10 2007 15:15
Profile
Sometime odd things happent with the dialoge scripts.I haved a trouble with one that say ``improper code system´´.I only changed the writting type and the bug is gone.Very unusual problem. :confused: [ Saturday, March 10, 2007 15:22: Message edited by: Blake81 ] -------------------- The revenge is only a wild way of justice. Posts: 70 | Registered: Saturday, February 24 2007 08:00 |
Law Bringer
Member # 4153
|
written Sunday, March 11 2007 14:07
Profile
Homepage
quote:Wait... you mean you changed the font type? The whole script should probably be one font, and it definitely has to be in plain text (.txt) format... unless I've misunderstood what you mean. -------------------- Gamble with Gaea, and she eats your dice. I hate undead. I really, really, really, really hate undead. With a passion. Posts: 4130 | Registered: Friday, March 26 2004 08:00 |
Warrior
Member # 8176
|
written Monday, March 12 2007 09:37
Profile
All the script was written in Times New Roman and the game don't supported it,I only changed to Arial Black and ``poof´´ the bug is gone. -------------------- The revenge is only a wild way of justice. Posts: 70 | Registered: Saturday, February 24 2007 08:00 |
Guardian
Member # 6670
|
written Monday, March 12 2007 11:01
Profile
Homepage
That's the problem. When someone says 'Plain Text Format', that means that the file doesn't contain any information about how to display the text; it just contains the text itself. What OS do you have? If you run Windows, a simple test is to try open your script with Notepad. If you see lots of weird characters, your file isn't in Plain Text Format. To be safe, write your scripts with one of the text editors listed here. -------------------- The following two statements are usually both true: There's not enough documentation. There's too much documentation. - Larry Wall Posts: 1509 | Registered: Tuesday, January 10 2006 08:00 |
Agent
Member # 8030
|
written Tuesday, March 13 2007 14:09
Profile
Homepage
It's best to stick with Courier New. -------------------- WWJD? Posts: 1384 | Registered: Tuesday, February 6 2007 08:00 |
Infiltrator
Member # 5576
|
written Wednesday, March 14 2007 04:45
Profile
Homepage
No, as Dintridan said, it's best to use a file format that doesn't contain font information. Notepad is an easy way to do that on Windows, on Mac OS, TextEdit is good, but you have to set the default new document type to 'Plain text', I think the starting default is 'Rich text', which you don't want. One way that you can check a file (at least on a Mac, since it works with Internet Explorer, I'm guessing it'll work on a PC) is to save your file and give it a .txt extension, then open it using a webbrowser. If you see a bunch of junk like: at the beginning that you don't see in your text editor, then it isn't in plain text format and it may not work with BoA. -------------------- Überraschung des Dosenöffners! "On guard, you musty sofa!" Posts: 627 | Registered: Monday, March 7 2005 08:00 |
Shaper
Member # 73
|
written Wednesday, March 14 2007 04:50
Profile
Gah! Too much mucking about looking for unnecessarily snarky comments about death to describe the subject of what's best to use for BoA scripts! Now my post is five minutes after Niemand's. Whatever. [ Wednesday, March 14, 2007 04:52: Message edited by: The Almighty Do-er of Stuff ] -------------------- My Myspace, with some of my audial and visual art The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database Alexandria - The Blades of Exile Scenario database BoE Webring - Self explanatory Polaris - Free porn here Odd Todd - Fun for the unemployed (and everyone else too) They Might Be Giants - Four websites for one of the greatest bands in existance -------------------- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00 |
Agent
Member # 8030
|
written Wednesday, March 14 2007 15:17
Profile
Homepage
So why do you bother to look at the BoA Editor forum? -------------------- WWJD? Posts: 1384 | Registered: Tuesday, February 6 2007 08:00 |
Shaper
Member # 73
|
written Wednesday, March 14 2007 16:59
Profile
Not death to BoA or BoA scripts. I meant death to the discussion of how to best format BoA scripts. -------------------- My Myspace, with some of my audial and visual art The Lyceum - The Headquarters of the Blades designing community The Louvre - The Blades of Avernum graphics database Alexandria - The Blades of Exile Scenario database BoE Webring - Self explanatory Polaris - Free porn here Odd Todd - Fun for the unemployed (and everyone else too) They Might Be Giants - Four websites for one of the greatest bands in existance -------------------- 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Posts: 2957 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00 |
Pages
- 1
- 2