BoA Script Editor 1.0a2

AuthorTopic: BoA Script Editor 1.0a2
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #0
BASE 1.0a2 is now available.
This new version adds part of the custom terrain editor, fixes several bugs and adds a small note to the comments of a generated file explaining how to put the floor/terrain in a scenario.
Download here.

I've been working on a program christened Blades of Avernum Script Editor (BASE, for short). Anyway, I'd like to inflict it on you people.

BASE isn't very polished. At the moment, it will only save floors and not open them. Also, I haven't actually tested the floors in the game, so I'll need your help on that.

BASE runs on Mac OS X 10.1 and above. Please tell me about any bugs you notice. Ideas are also welcome. Thanks in advance!

Features:
Creates custom floors in a highly intuitive way.Part of the custom terrain editor has been implemented.Saved files are ready to insert into a scenario custom data script; all you need to do is change the identification number.Saved files now have a note in the comments explaining how to insert it into your scenario.Planned Features:Some way to see/list graphics already in the game without having to consult the appendices.Creating custom units and items.Grouping floors, terrain, units and items into a self-contained scenario data file.Editing objects that already exist in the game, so that extraneous data is removed from the script and the scripts will reflect future updates to BoA.A dialogue and script editor.Known Bugs:The checkmark in popup menus disappears if you de-highlight the active item in the menu.New window placement is messed up if the about window is visible.

[ Friday, April 02, 2004 08:46: Message edited by: Newtfeet ]
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #1
I really like this idea. I haven't played with it at all; I have little in the way of custom floors I want to deal with right now, but once you add a few more features, this will be a great program.

Obviously it will not replace writing scripts directly, but it will make it easier to do basic things and serve as a good intro for new designers.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #2
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon:

I really like this idea. I haven't played with it at all; I have little in the way of custom floors I want to deal with right now, but once you add a few more features, this will be a great program.
I liked the idea too, and it was a good way to get some programming experience. I plan to add the rest of the custom data types sometime.

quote:
Originally written by Kelandon:

Obviously it will not replace writing scripts directly, but it will make it easier to do basic things and serve as a good intro for new designers.
In the subsequent major release I want to add actual script generation (not just custom objects). I also want to re-write everything; the code right now is rather sloppy.

Edit:
I've had another look at the custom terrain section in the docs. It's about twice as complicated as floors; expect it to take a while! At least I have some of the framework in place...

[ Wednesday, March 31, 2004 17:16: Message edited by: Newtfeet ]

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
BANNED
Member # 4
Profile Homepage #3
A bit bare-bones right now (obviously), but I like the set-up. It does, however, assume that the player knows some things about the terrains they're dealing with before even opening it- why not make smaller captions or a "help" pop-up? Perhaps you could make a state-compiler where you have a selected group of "options" (ie. Display Message, Display Small Message, Set Flag, etc.), the designer chooses which he/she(/it?) wishes to add to the list of actions performed in the state, at which point it would be compiled into one handy state to be used in the editor.

--------------------
*
Posts: 6936 | Registered: Tuesday, September 18 2001 07:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #4
quote:
Originally written by Tentacle Monster:

A bit bare-bones right now (obviously), but I like the set-up. It does, however, assume that the player knows some things about the terrains they're dealing with before even opening it- why not make smaller captions or a "help" pop-up?
Most of the controls have tooltips; just move the mouse over an option and wait. I also want to add a visual picker for graphics; is that what you meant?
quote:
Originally written by Tentacle Monster:

Perhaps you could make a state-compiler where you have a selected group of "options" (ie. Display Message, Display Small Message, Set Flag, etc.), the designer chooses which he/she(/it?) wishes to add to the list of actions performed in the state, at which point it would be compiled into one handy state to be used in the editor.
You've hit upon something I would really like to do. It probably will have to wait a while, however; it requires another whole generated script. I'll also have to think about the design...

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Warrior
Member # 246
Profile #5
Is it just me or has everything on this forum slowly becoming more Macintosh than Windows. :(

I downloaded it hoping the source was included. No such luck. Well at least this time the file wasn't big and wasn't in that useless StuffIt format.

[ Wednesday, March 31, 2004 23:09: Message edited by: Frobozz ]
Posts: 117 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #6
You are aware that SW games were originally available only for Mac, right?

Leave us be. It's not often we Mac users get privileged treatment by a software company. :P

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Infiltrator
Member # 154
Profile #7
I don't need some special editor to be able to code.

I've coded a dozen languages in my life, and I've lost count of the number of times;

1. Someone reccomends a fancy text editor to me.
2. I download it, and it turns out to be some horrible, bloated MDI interface with syntax highlighting and a function library. (none of which I need).
3. I run screaming back to Notepad, which serves my purpose fine.

It could be good for Script Newbies to get to learn the system, though.

--------------------
Apparently still annoying.
Posts: 612 | Registered: Saturday, October 13 2001 07:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #8
quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

Is it just me or has everything on this forum slowly becoming more Macintosh than Windows. :(
I, for one, am glad that somewhere there is a place where Macs get higher priority. It wouldn't be impossible for me to make a Windows version; just expensive.

quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

I downloaded it hoping the source was included. No such luck. Well at least this time the file wasn't big and wasn't in that useless StuffIt format.
Yeah; this isn't open source. It might be when I get bored and give up ;) . Anyway, the source might not be useful; this isn't written in VB, C++, Java or Python. And what do you mean, "useless StuffIt format"? :mad:

quote:
Originally written by Snuff ling kin:

I don't need some special editor to be able to code.
Not many people do.

quote:
Originally written by Snuff ling kin:

It could be good for Script Newbies to get to learn the system, though.
That's the entire point. Anyway, what I plan on isn't even a text editor; you would see a list of functions, choose one and drag it into the code. Then you can set the properties. No code involved. Unless, of course, you want to.

Thinking on Tentacle Monster's idea: I can see adding multiple options to the special property menu and adding a node to the output file, but there are a couple of design points that prevent me:
It would be massively harder to get this to open files if I have to parse a script.I can easily imagine someone wanting to do more than one thing; it could get annoying for a newbie.I don't like doing things halfway. Putting this in when I plan to make a better version later seems like wasted time to me.Several other reasons I can't think of now.Anyway, has anyone tested these files with BoA yet?

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 3040
Profile #9
quote:
this isn't written in VB, C++, Java or Python.
What is it written in?

--------------------
5.0.1.0.0.0.0.1.0...
Posts: 508 | Registered: Thursday, May 29 2003 07:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #10
quote:
Originally written by wizardr6:

What is it written in?
I'll assume you have Windows or haven't looked at the about window. BASE is written in REALbasic.

I've been working on the custom terrain editor. I have some of the most general stuff implemented, and as soon as I get the General tab finished I'll release 1.0a2. I just have the crumble/beam and the special property areas left.

I've also added a little note in the comments when you save a floor or terrain that tells how to use the floor/terrain in a scenario. Hopefully that will help the target audience (newbies).

[ Thursday, April 01, 2004 12:07: Message edited by: Newtfeet ]

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 3040
Profile #11
quote:
I'll assume you have Windows or haven't looked at the about window. BASE is written in REALbasic.
Or haven't downloaded it. :D

I use REALbasic as well. I'm planning to write a dialogue script editor, in fact, but it might be too ambitious for me.

--------------------
5.0.1.0.0.0.0.1.0...
Posts: 508 | Registered: Thursday, May 29 2003 07:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #12
quote:
Originally written by wizardr6:

Or haven't downloaded it. :D
Of course. I always forget that option!

quote:
Originally written by wizardr6:

I use REALbasic as well. I'm planning to write a dialogue script editor, in fact, but it might be too ambitious for me.
I know exactly what you mean. I get all these cool ideas, but they all hit the dust pretty quickly. I've never finished a program.

In fact, I was hoping to add a dialogue editor in BASE 1.5 or 2.0. We'll see...

[ Thursday, April 01, 2004 12:54: Message edited by: Newtfeet ]

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Warrior
Member # 246
Profile #13
quote:
Originally written by Newtfeet:

I, for one, am glad that somewhere there is a place where Macs get higher priority. It wouldn't be impossible for me to make a Windows version; just expensive.
I don't have anything against Mac users (I even had one once). However, I like to see code written to be as portable as possible. Why? Because it is annoying to have to change to another computer whenever you want to run a particular program. :(

quote:
Originally written by Newtfeet:

Yeah; this isn't open source. It might be when I get bored and give up ;) . Anyway, the source might not be useful; this isn't written in VB, C++, Java or Python. And what do you mean, "useless StuffIt format"? :mad:
It would be far more useful than you would believe. I've programmed three of the languages you mentioned ( VB, C++, Java ) and others you have not mentioned. I doubt it would take long to port.

Oh and StuffIt is useless because the vast majority of people cannot use it. And I don't think you should pay for the program to make them. Oh and if you are thinking I like zip, guess again. I prefer GZIP and TAR. Why? Because almost every archiver I've tried (WinZIP, 7Zip, StuffIt expander, Ark (Linux) ) can handle the formats.
Posts: 117 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #14
quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

I don't have anything against Mac users (I even had one once). However, I like to see code written to be as portable as possible. Why? Because it is annoying to have to change to another computer whenever you want to run a particular program. :(
This code is portable. The only problem is I need the professional version of REALbasic in order to build a Windows version. And that costs around $400, last I checked.

quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

It would be far more useful than you would believe. I've programmed three of the languages you mentioned ( VB, C++, Java ) and others you have not mentioned. I doubt it would take long to port.
It might not, but it didn't take long to write either (10 days, more or less). If you want to make a VB version, tell me once I get a finial version.

quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

Oh and StuffIt is useless because the vast majority of people cannot use it.
And "the vast majority of people" aren't going to be using this anyway. In fact, almost every Mac out there has StuffIt Expander.

quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

And I don't think you should pay for the program to make them.
You don't have to. DropStuff is shareware; I haven't registered it and it hasn't expired yet. I don't think it will.

[ Friday, April 02, 2004 04:16: Message edited by: Newtfeet ]

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #15
BASE 1.0a2 is now available. There's a download link in my first post. I need input, people!

(Sorry about the double post.)

[ Friday, April 02, 2004 07:27: Message edited by: Newtfeet ]

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Warrior
Member # 246
Profile #16
quote:
Originally written by Newtfeet:

This code is portable. The only problem is I need the professional version of REALbasic in order to build a Windows version. And that costs around $400, last I checked.
Not according to what I have read. You only need the professional version if you are going to compile Windows applications from a Macintosh computer. If you have a computer with Windows than you can just buy the standard version and use that.

[ Sunday, April 04, 2004 17:00: Message edited by: Frobozz ]
Posts: 117 | Registered: Friday, November 2 2001 08:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #17
quote:
Originally written by Frobozz:

If you have a computer with Windows...
Whoops! Stop right here. I don't. I also probably would save the money that would go into that to get the Professional version anyway; it has more features then cross-compiling.

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00
Warrior
Member # 2275
Profile #18
I have a registered version of RB 5.2.1, I would be quite happy to compile a windows version for each release, if you only sent me the source code.

--------------------
Signatures can appear at the bottom of your posts. This option may be disabled by the message board administrators at any time, however. You may use UBB Code in your signature, but not HTML. UBB Code Images not permitted.
Posts: 79 | Registered: Friday, November 22 2002 08:00
Warrior
Member # 1505
Profile #19
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't RB 5.2.4 the latest version of RB 5? And anyway, I'm developing this in REALbasic 5.5.2b1. That needs a RB 5.5 license. And I want to wait until I actually have something worth porting.

--------------------
-Newtfeet
Posts: 151 | Registered: Saturday, July 13 2002 07:00