Scripting tutorials?

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Scripting tutorials?
Apprentice
Member # 6434
Profile #0
I'm pretty good with the scenario editor itself, but when it comes to scripting, I'm like, uber-n00b. The manuals describes stuff like calls and stuff, but what I don't understand is how I put that stuff into a script. Does anybody know of some tutorials or something for basic BoA scripting? (and I mean really basic :confused: ).

--------------------
Click here if you dare.
Guardian
Member # 6670
Profile Homepage #1
Basic Scripting For Complete Beginners, by Kelandon. Also, you'll find Kelandon's link page here, and Spiderweb's link page here (there's a lot of overlap). Additionally, once you get the hang of it, don't leave home without the Script Reference Guide.

Finally, if you have any more questions, direct them to the Blades of Avernum Editor forum, where a host of pathologically helpful people will attack you with answers.

--------------------
(By the way, it looks like someone messed around with the editing on the Reference.)
Agent
Member # 27
Profile #2
There's no easy way to do this, you just have to start from the ground up. Read the scripting chapter in the Editor Docs (it will require basic logic), and look at other people's scripts. Eventually scripting will start to make sense to you. What you really need is commitment.
Shaper
Member # 7472
Profile Homepage #3
And if you're really, really stuck, you can always post here.

EDIT: Actually, if it's something to do with scripting, it might be better to post it in the Blades of Avernum Editor Forum.

[ Thursday, November 02, 2006 17:18: Message edited by: Nioca ]

--------------------
Scenarios need reviews! Please rate these scenarios at the CSR after playing them!