One at a time

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: One at a time
Apprentice
Member # 4268
Profile #0
Does anyone know how to get an Item to do only work for one turn then go away.

I'm trying to make a wand which, once you use it, it turns on the set_total_visibility call. But I only want to do this once a turn so when you use it turns on the toatl visibility and then once you move it turns itself back off.
It's not seeming to work for me am I doing anything wrong.
Heres the code
beginstate 15;
play_sound(10);
set_total_visibility(1);
print_str_color("You can now see Everywhere",2);
pause();
play_sound(10);
set_total_visibility(0);
break;
it looks wrong but I'm not sure what to change. Please Help! Anyone?

[ Thursday, June 17, 2004 01:57: Message edited by: Drakon Master ]

--------------------
He strikes silently with large claws..........and webbed feet!
Posts: 24 | Registered: Thursday, April 15 2004 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #1
You may need to refresh the screen.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Post Navel Trauma ^_^
Member # 67
Profile Homepage #2
pause() should be pause(40) or something, depending on how long you want to wait.

--------------------
Barcoorah: I even did it to a big dorset ram.

New Mac BoE
Posts: 1798 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 3022
Profile #3
Put something in START_STATE of your scenarioscript?

(Start_state runs every turn. So you can have the wand set SDF, which start_state checks for the next turn and deactivates full visibility. I haven't tried, but should work. Though I think you need to be very careful of a wand of this type: in some cases, it could be ugly, indeed.)

[ Thursday, June 17, 2004 16:06: Message edited by: FZ ]
Posts: 269 | Registered: Saturday, May 24 2003 07:00
Triad Mage
Member # 7
Profile Homepage #4
Yes - you'll need something that checks every turn for the wand being 'on', so it can turn it off, either that turn or the next. Alternatively, you can make a special node area the size of the town, and if stepped on, it turns visibility off.

--------------------
"At times discretion should be thrown aside, and with the foolish we should play the fool." - Menander
====
Drakefyre's Demesne - Happy Happy Joy Joy
Encyclopedia Ermariana - Trapped in the Closet
====
You can take my Mac when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the mouse!
Posts: 9436 | Registered: Wednesday, September 19 2001 07:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 4180
Profile #5
quote:
Originally written by Drakefyre:

Alternatively, you can make a special node area the size of the town, and if stepped on, it turns visibility off.
Don't think that would work... you have to exit the special rectangle and re-enter it before it would be activated again, since you'd almost certainly already be IN the special rect when you use the item. Very creative idea, though. :)

If you can't get it to work the way you want with the pause() and by adding a coupla force_instant_terrain_redraw()s, you're pretty well going to have to go the route of turning it off at the start of a turn if a particular SDF is set, I think.

--------------------
-spyderbytes
Posts: 200 | Registered: Wednesday, March 31 2004 08:00
Shaper
Member # 22
Profile #6
That particular "feature" of BoA bugs me to the extreme. I'm hoping that we can choose which kind of rectangle we want in future versions.
Posts: 2862 | Registered: Tuesday, October 2 2001 07:00