IPB vs. phpBB

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: IPB vs. phpBB
Guardian
Member # 6670
Profile Homepage #0
To all the multi-forumers out there:

In the next month, I'll be setting up a forum, probably on forumer.com (non-Spid). Personally, I couldn't care less whether it would be phpBB or Invision. But since the majority of the people going on these forums would be complete newbies, I was wondering what type people found more user-friendly. Also, I'd like to know what it's like on the admin side (Polaris is IPB, right?), and what performs better.

Thanks muchly.

--------------------
IF I EVER BECOME AN EVIL OVERLORD:
I will decree that all hay be shipped in tightly-packed bales. Any wagonload of loose hay attempting to pass through a checkpoint will be set on fire.
Law Bringer
Member # 6785
Profile #1
quote:
Originally written by Dintiradan:

I will decree that all hay be shipped in tightly-packed bales. Any wagonload of loose hay attempting to pass through a checkpoint will be set on fire.

Give the guards something to do and issue them pitchforks to poke the loose hay. It cuts down on out of control fires when the horses pulling the wagons get spooked.
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #2
But at the critical moment, something will distract the guard and they will forget to poke one specific corner of the hay. Murphy's and the law of protagonists predict that the entire cast of heroes has managed to cram into that corner.

--

Polaris runs IPB. IPB is an extremely good BBS, and it outperforms phpBB in pretty much every category. It is also 70$. phpBB is free, and it is good as well.