Game recommendation?

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Game recommendation?
Apprentice
Member # 3427
Profile #0
Hello all,

I just learned of Spiderweb Software from some glowing reviews. I've got limited time for gaming, and was hoping some people here would be willing to give me a recommendation as to which of the Spiderweb games I ought to try first and give a serious trial.

In case it helps in your recommendation, I've been playing computer rpgs since around 1980. I buy most commercial rpgs that look halfway decent, to at least give them a try. I almost never finish the games anymore, though IMAGE(Spiderweb Software Boards Game recommendation_files/frown.gif) . I like games with good stories, settings and character interaction. Combat's not a huge thing for me. I prefer games with less fighting (especially random encounters), but where the combat is tactically interesting.

I read that Spiderweb games tend to have very good plots and settings, with less focus on graphics, so that's why I'm interested.

I downloaded Avernum 3 since I understand it is one of Spiderweb's more recent games. Is that a good game for me to start with? Any other recommendations as to which game has an involved and interesting story and npc interactions that I should try instead of Avernum 3 since I'll probably only take the time to try out one Spiderweb game (unless of course I like the first one a lot).

Thanks
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #1
I'd recommend you buy Blades of Exile and play some of the better scenarios. Most are shorter than the Exile/Avernum series, and many have stronger plots.

If you decide BoE isn't your thing, Geneforge has quite a following too.

[ Wednesday, September 03, 2003 22:56: Message edited by: Thuryl ]
One Thousand Slimy Things
Member # 66
Profile #2