N:R is not changing screen resolutions

AuthorTopic: N:R is not changing screen resolutions
Apprentice
Member # 9692
Profile #0
For some reason, the new Nethergate refuses to change the screen resolution on my laptop. Avernums 1-4 all do it properly. I can change manually to 800x600 before I start playing, but it's kind of annoying to have to do that. Whether I have it preset to change resolutions, or have it ask on startup, it always just centers the game in my standard resolution (1280x800). Any suggestions?

It's a Dell XPS M1210 laptop running Windows XP Professional Version 2002 with Service Pack 2.
Posts: 4 | Registered: Friday, August 10 2007 07:00
Board Administrator
Member # 1
Profile Homepage #1
This is by design. In widescreen monitors, if it switches to 800x600, it scretches out the game area and makes it look weird.

This way, the game looks for the resolution on your monitor that makes the game area have the intended aspect ratio. The resolution you're getting is the closest option.

- Jeff Vogel

[ Friday, August 10, 2007 14:02: Message edited by: Spidweb ]

--------------------
Official Board Admin
spidweb@spiderwebsoftware.com
Posts: 960 | Registered: Tuesday, September 18 2001 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 9692
Profile #2
But I actually prefer it at 800x600! If I want it to stay at 1280x800, I can just tell it not to switch. As it is, both options (switch or don't switch) are the same. Well, I can just do it manually.
Posts: 4 | Registered: Friday, August 10 2007 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 9692
Profile #3
Oh, and although I don't know how typical this behavior is, when my monitor is in 800x600 mode, it doesn't distort things; rather, it has two black bars on the left and right of the screen to have a standard 4:3 ratio.
Posts: 4 | Registered: Friday, August 10 2007 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 6906
Profile Homepage #4
hmm my problem is related to this subject also:

windows xp,
widescreen 15,4"

so my computer is a laptop, and the picture streches so much that only about one eigth of the picture is visible in the screen and no options have been enabled wether or not to change resolution. i cannot possibly choose any further options since cannot see even menu items.

if anyone knows a way outta this i would appreciate it.

++ gis

--------------------
gg
Posts: 2 | Registered: Tuesday, March 14 2006 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 6489
Profile Homepage #5
I know this doesn't really help anyone, but I'm really starting to wonder when Jeff is going to stop using the 4:3 ratio for all his games. I mean, 40% of his sales are to Mac users. There isn't a single Mac that has a 4:3 screen on the market today, and there hasn't been for quite some time. A healthy number of PCs are 16:10 now too.

--------------------
"Dumbledore returns from the dead and declares it to be hammertime, Harry proceeds to break it down, Voldemort is unable to touch this." —Dintiradan
Spiderweb Chat Room
Avernum RPSummariesOoCRoster
Shadow Vale - My site, home of the Spiderweb Chat Database, BoA Scenario Database, & the A1 Quest List, among other things.
Posts: 1556 | Registered: Sunday, November 20 2005 08:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #6
quote:
Originally written by Tyranicus:

A healthy number of PCs are 16:10 now too.
Why's it called 16:10 and not 8:5, anyway?

[ Wednesday, August 15, 2007 02:20: Message edited by: Thuryl ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Agent
Member # 2759
Profile Homepage #7
quote:
Why's it called 16:10 and not 8:5, anyway?
I guess because a lot more people have 19" monitors than 9" ones.

Though that line of thought raises the question of why the tv ratio is called 4:3 rather than say, 12:9.

Edit: Double D'oh.

[ Wednesday, August 15, 2007 03:09: Message edited by: Micawber ]

--------------------
"Blink and you're dead... Don't turn your back, don't look away and don't blink."

Geneforge 4 stuff. Also, everything I know about Avernum | Avernum 2 | Avernum 3 | Avernum 4
Posts: 1104 | Registered: Monday, March 10 2003 08:00
Shock Trooper
Member # 4239
Profile #8
quote:
Originally written by Thuryl:

quote:
Originally written by Tyranicus:

A healthy number of PCs are 16:10 now too.
Why's it called 16:10 and not 8:5, anyway?

My assumption is that it's easier to compare to 16:9 and people like tens.

gis, can you give us a better description of what's going on? Which way is the picture stretched? Have you ever run the game successfully before?

--------------------
There are two kinds of game players...those who are newbies, and those who were.
Posts: 322 | Registered: Monday, April 12 2004 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 10013
Profile #9
I have the same problem in XP SP2

Not in Vista - works fine

also 4:3 because it's the smallest possible numbers to describe the ratio

The reason we use 16:10 and not 8:5 is to conform to 16:9, at least I think so.. ;)
Posts: 2 | Registered: Saturday, August 25 2007 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 6489
Profile Homepage #10
quote:
Originally written by Mr Pras:

also 4:3 because it's the smallest possible numbers to describe the ratio

The reason we use 16:10 and not 8:5 is to conform to 16:9, at least I think so.. ;)

Why not 16:12 for 4:3 then? :P

[ Sunday, August 26, 2007 07:18: Message edited by: Tyranicus ]

--------------------
"Dumbledore returns from the dead and declares it to be hammertime, Harry proceeds to break it down, Voldemort is unable to touch this." —Dintiradan
Spiderweb Chat Room
Avernum RPSummariesOoCRoster
Shadow Vale - My site, home of the Spiderweb Chat Database, BoA Scenario Database, & the A1 Quest List, among other things.
Posts: 1556 | Registered: Sunday, November 20 2005 08:00
FAQSELF
Member # 3
Profile #11
A quick work-around for those of us with widescreen laptop windows XP is to manually change the resolution of your screen to 800x600, then click on "don't change" when the box comes up on starting Nethergate. It'll result in a nice, large playing area.

--------------------
A few cats short of a kitten pot pie...

Radioactive cats have 18 half-lives.
Check out a great source for information on Avernum 2, Nethergate, and Subterra: Zeviz's page.
Finally, there's my Geneforge FAQ, Geneforge 2 FAQ, and
Geneforge 3 FAQ.
Posts: 2831 | Registered: Tuesday, September 18 2001 07:00