Crash on menu window (Geneforge 2)

AuthorTopic: Crash on menu window (Geneforge 2)
Apprentice
Member # 5960
Profile #0
i have windows xp home installed
i just installed and installed nothing else afterward and still crashes at menu.

Does Geneforge have compatavility isues with other programs?

BTW i have also reinstalled, Geneforge 1 and 3 work just fine. Ill try to download again from another mirror to see if that works but just wondering if it has any problems with some sofware or hardware.

Edit---
I still have the same problem here is the error that shoes up:
Unhandled exeptio c0000005
At address: 0042195e

[ Tuesday, June 14, 2005 08:49: Message edited by: ESR1 ]

--------------------
ESR1
Posts: 3 | Registered: Tuesday, June 14 2005 07:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #1
That is the error that most Spiderweb games calls up when there's a problem with Graphics. Have you got the latest Nvidia Drivers (or whatever else you use)?

If you don't : Get them, that will hopefully fix your problem.

Also, I think there was another problem recently with the drips in the Menu section. It's not that old, you should be able to find the topic. If I can, I'll find it and post a link.

EDIT: Here was the other Topic which contains a similar problem.

[URL=http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=2;t=000650]http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=2;t=000650[/UR L]

- Archmagi Micael

[ Tuesday, June 14, 2005 09:39: Message edited by: The Archmagi ]

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Agent
Member # 5814
Profile #2
Preview Post = Tech

--------------------
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon
Well, I'm at least pretty

Posts: 1115 | Registered: Sunday, May 15 2005 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 5960
Profile #3
Thank you Both
I just edited the name of that file, i have the newest version of drivers for my videocard and it still didnt work.

--------------------
ESR1
Posts: 3 | Registered: Tuesday, June 14 2005 07:00
Master
Member # 4614
Profile Homepage #4
Did you check to make absolutely sure you had the latest drivers?

--------------------
-ben4808
Posts: 3360 | Registered: Friday, June 25 2004 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #5
That means checking the website for the manufacturer of your graphics card, by the way, not just the automated update service.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 5960
Profile #6
I dled the lates, and my drivers arent dlable by an update service i had to visit the nvidia website and search for the correct drivers. But thank you for helping, i dont know if my card is compatible with the game or if the drivers arent compatible i have a:

GeForce FX 5500

and i have driver version:

Version: 71.89
Release Date: April 14, 2005
WHQL Certified

Site for Driver:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_71.89.html

And my product is suported by the drivers.

Dont know if this info can help on finding out why my computer has this error if i have the latest drivers.

[ Thursday, June 16, 2005 07:56: Message edited by: ESR1 ]

--------------------
ESR1
Posts: 3 | Registered: Tuesday, June 14 2005 07:00
Nuke and Pave
Member # 24
Profile Homepage #7
Did you try reinstalling DirectX?

--------------------
Be careful with a word, as you would with a sword,
For it too has the power to kill.
However well placed word, unlike a well placed sword,
Can also have the power to heal.
Posts: 2649 | Registered: Wednesday, October 3 2001 07:00