Homeland: The Stone of Night

AuthorTopic: Homeland: The Stone of Night
Apprentice
Member # 4731
Profile Homepage #0
Hello, I hope someone here can help me. After playing through the demo for Homeland, I ordered the full version of it last friday. It came today, when I installed it no error messages, however when I start it, it gets to the first conversation, then when I click on continue to start playing it just dumps me back to XP. :(

[ Friday, July 16, 2004 21:41: Message edited by: Antra ]
Posts: 1 | Registered: Friday, July 16 2004 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 1852
Profile #1
You actually ordered that game? Wow. Well, Im not exactly sure, but I think some of the older Spiderweb games dont always work that well, or hardly at all, on Windows XP. I just checked the little section that Homeland has at Spiderwebs website, and it says that it only works on Windows 95/98/NT. That might be why it crashes.
Posts: 45 | Registered: Sunday, September 8 2002 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 760
Profile #2
quote:
Originally written by crowsfein18:

You actually ordered that game? Wow. Well, Im not exactly sure, but I think some of the older Spiderweb games dont always work that well, or hardly at all, on Windows XP.
Not true. The old games work perfectly on XP, at least for me.

Antra: Have you patched the game? It might help..

--------------------
"The Darkness Shall Return!"
Posts: 642 | Registered: Saturday, March 16 2002 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 1852
Profile #3
I doubt Homeland does though. Really, go to the Spiderweb Software main page, go to our games, and look at the Homeland section, it says it requires one of the earlier forms of Windows. Im sure his problem is that he's running it on XP. I wonder, how many people have actually ordered Homeland?
Posts: 45 | Registered: Sunday, September 8 2002 07:00
Agent
Member # 2820
Profile #4
I also wonder why Jeff endorses that game. But, if the demo ran under XP, why doesn't the full version? Trying to access 9x libraries?

--------------------
Thuryl: I mean, most of us don't go around consuming our own bodily fluids, no matter how delicious they are.
====
Alorael: War and violence would end if we all had each other's babies!
====
Drakefyre: Those are hideous mangos.
Posts: 1415 | Registered: Thursday, March 27 2003 08:00
Infiltrator
Member # 4637
Profile Homepage #5
Use Windows XP's compatibility mode.

--------------------
Visit the Blades of Avernum Center
and the Beta Testing Center

--------------
"Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ." Colossians 2:6-9
Posts: 483 | Registered: Tuesday, June 29 2004 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 1852
Profile #6
I bet this is a record for posts about a Homeland topic.
Posts: 45 | Registered: Sunday, September 8 2002 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 760
Profile #7
quote:
Originally written by crowsfein18:

I doubt Homeland does though. Really, go to the Spiderweb Software main page, go to our games, and look at the Homeland section, it says it requires one of the earlier forms of Windows. Im sure his problem is that he's running it on XP. I wonder, how many people have actually ordered Homeland?
quote:
Homeland: The Stone of Night is available on CD-ROM. It requires a PC or 100% compatible running Windows 95/98/NT
Look carefully...see that NT there? And now, guess what XP is? Yeah, that's right, NT 5.1
And if we're continuing this talk it looks like XP users can't play Avernum either if we use your theory ;)

--------------------
"The Darkness Shall Return!"
Posts: 642 | Registered: Saturday, March 16 2002 08:00
Apprentice
Member # 1852
Profile #8
Oops, guess I should probably train a few more levels in Windows Operating System lore. Really, why would anybody order Homeland? I mean, the demos boring enough, I cant imagine what the full game would be like. And when I said 'older games', I wasnt talking about Avernum, I was refering to stuff like Homeland, Oceanboud, Lost Souls, you know, the non-spiderweb games that stunk.

[ Monday, July 26, 2004 10:27: Message edited by: crowsfein18 ]
Posts: 45 | Registered: Sunday, September 8 2002 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 760
Profile #9
quote:
Originally written by crowsfein18:

Really, why would anybody order Homeland?
'Cause they are one of the few ones that find Homeland to be playable? :P
quote:
Originally written by crowsfein18:

And when I said 'older games', I wasnt talking about Avernum, I was refering to stuff like Homeland, Oceanboud, Lost Souls, you know, the non-spiderweb games that stunk.
Yeah, I know I just used Avernum as an example to show that you are wrong on the OS thing ;)

[ Monday, July 26, 2004 23:20: Message edited by: Wizard ]

--------------------
"The Darkness Shall Return!"
Posts: 642 | Registered: Saturday, March 16 2002 08:00
Warrior
Member # 4566
Profile #10
My UT2004 demo worked on my old computer,but the full version didn't,so it is possible that its because of your computer.

--------------------
samurai56:the video game guide you don't have to buy!
Posts: 51 | Registered: Thursday, June 17 2004 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 4423
Profile #11
Win XP is notoriously bad for running older games... the games made for DOS never did run very well in Windows, and each new version of Windows just makes it worse. Even the older Windows games don't always run in XP... hence this topic.

Here's some obvious things you may have glossed over...
Update Homeland fully.
Update all drivers (especially sound).
Try disabling sound, extra graphic options, ect. in an attempt to discover the exact problem.
Make sure you are running Homeland in full screen mode (default should be full screen, so this most likely doesn't apply).
Try Win XP compatibility mode.
Reinstall Homeland
Make sure the demo is unistalled BEFORE installing the full (or is Homeland a registration key? if it is, ignore this... I never did order Homeland)

Alternatly, you could install a different version of Windows on a second harddrive... or even partition your primary drive into a second piece, then install another Windows there. Then you'd have to boot to the other Windows... I wouldn't attempt these without some in-depth knowledge.

[ Sunday, August 15, 2004 15:28: Message edited by: MasterXan ]

--------------------
"When your teacher needs a calculator to add up how many you missed more than you need a calculator to take a calc test, that's bad."
Posts: 44 | Registered: Tuesday, May 25 2004 07:00