Avernum 3 bug in Windows

AuthorTopic: Avernum 3 bug in Windows
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #0
Hi, I'm using the unregistered version of Avernum III in Windows, and when I start the game, I am immediately bombarded by error messages reading:

"DirectSound Error: Failed to create sound buffer"
:confused:
I use Windows NT. Another PC with the same system, but without a soundcard, had no problems at all with executing the game. Does anyone know how I could fix that? The game works ok without sound, but I get a message every 2 seconds or so, which makes playing almost impossible.

--------------------
Encyclopaedia ErmarianaForum ArchivesForum StatisticsRSS [Topic / Forum]
My BlogPolarisI eat novels for breakfast.
Polaris is dead, long live Polaris.
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair.
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00
Infiltrator
Member # 760
Profile #1
well there are several steps that you could try to fix the problem:

1. Update your sound card drivers
2. Get the newest DirectX version

also I suggest testing DirectSound in dxdiag (start - run - type "dxdiag" - sound - Test DirectSound)

[ Tuesday, May 20, 2003 07:31: Message edited by: Wizard ]

--------------------
"The Darkness Shall Return!"
Posts: 642 | Registered: Saturday, March 16 2002 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #2
There *is* no Directx available for Windows NT :( , or I haven't searched well enough. On some support boards I read that the newest version of directx for NT is 3.0, which is hardly up to date.

Anyway, I didn't find any links for that one either. The easiest way to solve the problem would probably be to switch off the Avernum 3 sound somehow; for Exile 3 there was a patch file that could do this, but not for A3. :(

And the "dxdiag" doesn't seem to work for some reason, the program can't be found.

[ Tuesday, May 20, 2003 08:07: Message edited by: Arancaytar ]

--------------------
Encyclopaedia ErmarianaForum ArchivesForum StatisticsRSS [Topic / Forum]
My BlogPolarisI eat novels for breakfast.
Polaris is dead, long live Polaris.
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair.
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00
One Thousand Slimy Things
Member # 66
Profile #3
Windows NT is not meant for games, and even Microsoft has warned that games don't work on it well. Use Win95/98/ME/XP instead.

And dxdiag doesn't exist in the ancient directx versions.

[ Tuesday, May 20, 2003 08:32: Message edited by: ArcticFoxxy ]

--------------------
Bending, but not in the way you might imagine.
Posts: 995 | Registered: Thursday, October 4 2001 07:00
Guardian
Member # 2476
Profile #4
The only DirectX-version that is compatible with WinNT 4.0 is DirectX 3.0a
If you want to use that you'll also have to download the Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 6. The DirectX does not function properly without the Service Pack.
Good luck! :)

--------------------
Polaris
Rache's A3 Site reformatted 2/3 done
Rache's A3 Site, original version
Posts: 1828 | Registered: Saturday, January 11 2003 08:00
Law Bringer
Member # 2984
Profile Homepage #5
Thanx for the info. I'm probably going to switch to XP any time now; I am really fed up with all that incompatibility :mad: .

--------------------
Encyclopaedia ErmarianaForum ArchivesForum StatisticsRSS [Topic / Forum]
My BlogPolarisI eat novels for breakfast.
Polaris is dead, long live Polaris.
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair.
Posts: 8752 | Registered: Wednesday, May 14 2003 07:00