School of Hard Knocks

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: School of Hard Knocks
Warrior
Member # 6977
Profile #0
I started playing the demo of Geneforge 1 today, and I like it a lot so far. If I decide to buy the series, I'm probably going to play them in order, so I'm starting with the first installment.

However, I've noticed that Geneforge is rather difficult. I know there's an option to adjust the game's difficulty, but I don't like to use that feature if I don't absolutely have to.

Anyway, I'm in Watchhill with a level 3 Shaper, and I feel like death is always only a few seconds away. The ogre-like creatures can kill my character in one hit. I tried increasing his Endurance, and I got two whole points of bonus Health! (Yay!) I'm also wearing the best armor I can find.

So I keep saving the game after every single combat, because I might die in the next, and there's really not a lot I can do about it. Is this common in the early stages of the game with a Shaper, or is it just me?

--------------------
Man may have been made in the image of God, but human society was made in the image of His opposite number, and is always trying to get back home.
Law Bringer
Member # 6785
Profile #1
I'm trying it with an Agent and a Guardian too. I'm just past that point and from what I've seen with the walkthrough it's not going to be better for a while.

Shapers and Agents get almost no benefit from increased endurance. Guardians get the most according to the formulas.

Shapers are meant to hang back and let their creations take the damage for them. Agents are supposed to blast first and hope nothing is left to fight them. The next section north of Watchhill is no better. The Atrilla nail you with poison or is it acid so you can't fight more than one at a time.