interactive pannels

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: interactive pannels
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #0
i also asked this question in the orb of Thralni topic, but as its VERY important for my scenario if I can do this or not, I decided to make a new topic.

for my scenario, I'd like to make an interactive pannel, with buttons that you can really press, as you have in Avernum 3, the slime pit where the alien slime sits (Its that panel in the center of the cave, before you even decend through one of the closed gates. You use the panel to open the gates). i wondered if i can make this too. But as I can't look into the Avernum 3 scripts and the like, I thought that one of you could maybe help me out. Please, if you now something about it, or even now where i can find the scripts I need, please tell me about it.

Thanks to everybody who knows something.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #1
You can't. There's just no way. Also, A3 didn't have scripts.

EDIT: But you CAN show an image via large_draw_pic_dialog that has numbered buttons on it and then ask which button to press via numeric input.

EDIT 2: Specifically, assuming your image was numbered 520 in your custom graphics:

large_draw_pic_dialog(520,"You find a panel with five buttons that you can press!");
message_dialog("Now enter the number of the button you would like to press (or _0_ not to press a button).","");
what_num = 20;
get_text_response("Which button?");
check_text_response_match("0");
if (got_text_match())
what_num = 0;
check_text_response_match("1");
if (got_text_match())
what_num = 1;
check_text_response_match("2");
if (got_text_match())
what_num = 2;
check_text_response_match("3");
if (got_text_match())
what_num = 3;
check_text_response_match("4");
if (got_text_match())
what_num = 4;
check_text_response_match("5");
if (got_text_match())
what_num = 5;
// Then, if what_num still equals 20, they've entered something wrong.
// You could start them over with a set_state_continue to the beginning
// of this state, or you could cancel the whole thing.
// If what_num equals 0, they chose to cancel it. If it equals anything
// else, they chose to press the button with that number.


[ Monday, August 22, 2005 10:21: Message edited by: Kelandon ]

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #2
So if I understand it correctly, this is the order of appearence:

1) a dialog box with picture of the pannel, wher you can see the choices;

2) a text response box where you can choose the button;

3) a description of what happened after you pushed the button.

I think this will wotk quite well. Thanks, kelandon.

just one thing about the last part of the script, where the checking of numbers takes place. Is it best to (after choosing a number) redirect the script to an other state, so if you, say, choose button 1, you eventually go from state 10 to state 15, for example? (i think it would be otherwise a very long complicated script).

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #3
It's not absolutely necessary -- BoA's capable of handling pretty long scripts. If you want to see REALLY long scripts being run, check out the High Level Party Maker. Some states push right up against the maximum limit of instructions BoA allows.

On the other hand, for your own convenience you might want to break the script up into different states, if you find that makes it easier for you.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Master
Member # 5977
Profile Homepage #4
I made some sort of a control panel, but I didn't test it yet. testing will probablt start only in a few eeks, so in the moment I have nothing to say about this. But anyway, thanks, kelandon, again and thanks Thuryl.

--------------------
Play and rate my scenarios:

Where the rivers meet
View my upcoming scenario: The Nephil Search: Escape.

Give us your drek!
Posts: 3029 | Registered: Saturday, June 18 2005 07:00