Outdoor Locations - MOVING

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Outdoor Locations - MOVING
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #0
Guys, I'm trying to appear in an outdoor section from a central point in my town, using the code from CoNR, but it isn't working. Any ideas why?

beginstate 11;
change_outdoor_location(3,1,14,45);
block_party(1);
break;


--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #1
Changing the party's outdoor location doesn't put them outdoors. It just changes where they will end up when they walk out of town. There is no call to put them directly outdoors. You have to make them walk out of the town.

You could work around this by moving them into a new town that looked the same as the first but had boundaries right next to where the characters are standing, but this might not accomplish what you want.

EDIT: Also I think block_party is not a call. You probably intended block_entry.

[ Wednesday, August 04, 2004 12:15: Message edited by: Kelandon ]

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #2
Are you sure? because when I try to run that spot it also says BAD TERM IN EXPRESSION in line 49. (There is no line 49!)

Is that just my code, or the program (it's probably just the code - but it doesn't hurt to know)

begintownscript;

variables;


int i,j,k,choice

body;
// This is the script for the great Vahnatai Spiral.
beginstate 0;
set_crime_tolerance (15);
break;

beginstate 1;
break;
beginstate 2;
break;

beginstate 11;
change_outdoor_location(3,1,14,45);
block_entry(1);
break;

beginstate 13;
if (get_flag(66,2) = 0){
reset_dialog();
add_dialog_str(0,"You take a look around you at the 'GREAT' Vahnatai Spiral. The place is a mess. You can't see well, due to unsurmountably high",2);
add_dialog_str(1," cliffs, and the road is hidden in places, also by the cliffs. If you fall it's almost a certain death, and even if you survive,",2);
add_dialog_str(2," you would be trapped between rocks. It truly is a nightmare. However, if the only way out is through here, you must attempt it!",2);
add_dialog_choice(2,"Attempt to climb the Spiral");
run_dialog(2);
set_flag(66,2,1);}
break;


--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #3
It's probably objecting to state 13. You have a single equals instead of a double equals -- it should read
if (get_flag(66,2) == 0) {

EDIT: Also you have a floating run_dialog call. That is a SHORT, not a VOID, remember? At worst you have to say something like

i = run_dialog(1);

rather than what you're doing.

[ Wednesday, August 04, 2004 12:26: Message edited by: Kelandon ]

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #4
Oh yeah.

Thanks for spotting that! Now I'm another step closer...

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #5
.. Or not. It doesn't work like it should!

I appear here:

IMAGE(http://hometown.aol.co.uk/Micael%20456/FORUMSPIDWEB/wrong.jpg)

When I should appear on the cave floor HERE:

IMAGE(http://hometown.aol.co.uk/Micael%20456/FORUMSPIDWEB/shouldbe.jpg)

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #6
Probably because they're leaving the town to the north. If they can only leave the town to the north and you want them to end up on a particular spot, move their outdoor location to one space south of that spot.

That is, the outdoor location is where the town (hypothetically) would be. If they leave to the north, they're going to walk a step north from that town.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Warrior
Member # 4202
Profile Homepage #7
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon:

EDIT: Also you have a floating run_dialog call. That is a SHORT, not a VOID, remember? At worst you have to say something like

i = run_dialog(1);

rather than what you're doing.

No, you don't have to. The scenarios that come with BoA do, but I ususally don't do that, and I tested just now to make sure. "run_dialog(1);" works fine. (Although doing it that way may be confusing to novice [and even experienced] designers.)

--------------------
Creator of the 3D Blades of Avernum Editor for Mac. Get it at Ingenious Isaac's Illusion, my web page. Better yet, get Battle for Wesnoth, a wonderful free TBS game.
Posts: 192 | Registered: Sunday, April 4 2004 08:00
Agent
Member # 4506
Profile Homepage #8
Thanks again guys! It works now (all of it). And it only took a few hours of trying. (or a few MINUTES for you lot. But hey.)

- Archmagi Micael

--------------------
"You dare Trifle with Avernum?" ~ Erika the Archmage
--------------------
My Scenarios:
Undead Valley : A small Undead problem, what could possibly go wrong?
--------------------
Richard Black - PROOF of his existance (the Infernal one's website).
--------------------
MY FORUM! Randomosity at it's highest! :)
Posts: 1370 | Registered: Thursday, June 10 2004 07:00