editor problem.

AuthorTopic: editor problem.
Warrior
Member # 6368
Profile Homepage #0
okaaay.. i looked at this but it doesnt help much.
1. If you run the editor and it immediately gives you a ton of errors (like that it can't find the "Warrior's Grove" file), you need to move the editor application (.exe file) itself into the "Data" (Windows) or "Blades of Avernum Files" (Mac) folder.
2. If you are asking for help because you are getting an error in a script, include the EXACT text of the error, the script you are getting it in, and point out which line you are getting the error at. To answer questions, we need specific information

i got the "Data" file. the only error is warriors grove is missing. and what is the "exe" file. i need a picture of it or something cause theres lots of exe files related to the BoA editor.

--------------------
MMORPG developed by jagex ltd. Join RuneScape.com today!

hawk kings editor edited by me for geneforge 2
http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=16&t=000906#00 0000
Posts: 91 | Registered: Monday, October 3 2005 07:00
Law Bringer
Member # 4153
Profile Homepage #1
Uh... I don't quite understand exactly what kind of error you're talking about. In fact, all I can tell from your post is that you use Windows.

Did you try the read me file?

And there's no need to post this in two forums... (EDIT: Good to see that Kel noticed it as well)

[ Thursday, January 26, 2006 17:53: Message edited by: Ephesos ]

--------------------
Gamble with Gaea, and she eats your dice.

I hate undead. I really, really, really, really hate undead. With a passion.
Posts: 4130 | Registered: Friday, March 26 2004 08:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #2
The .exe file in question is the one that you actually double-click on to open the editor. When you open the editor, the .exe file is the thing you're clicking on.

Move that .exe into the Data folder (not the Data file, which doesn't exist, but the Data folder).

Alternatively, just use the 3D Editor and avoid all this mess.

[ Thursday, January 26, 2006 17:54: Message edited by: Kelandon ]

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Warrior
Member # 6368
Profile Homepage #3
sorry, and. where is the 3D editor?

--------------------
MMORPG developed by jagex ltd. Join RuneScape.com today!

hawk kings editor edited by me for geneforge 2
http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=16&t=000906#00 0000
Posts: 91 | Registered: Monday, October 3 2005 07:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #4
Here.

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Councilor
Member # 6600
Profile Homepage #5
Kelandon, I'd start pointing out that it can be found above the topics for this forum so that potential editors don't have to come back to your post to find it. I know I've seen the question more than once.

Dikiyoba.
Posts: 4346 | Registered: Friday, December 23 2005 08:00
Warrior
Member # 6368
Profile Homepage #6
hm. i have problems downloading 3d editor and its not working with the scenario editor

--------------------
MMORPG developed by jagex ltd. Join RuneScape.com today!

hawk kings editor edited by me for geneforge 2
http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=16&t=000906#00 0000
Posts: 91 | Registered: Monday, October 3 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #7
Could you specify what problems you are having? What happens when you try to download it?

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Warrior
Member # 6368
Profile Homepage #8
lets see... when i click to download it on the site is says to download the 2 other things down below ( the source things or whatever) and i still need some detailed instructions on how to use the scenaria editor by jeff vogel. geneforge is so much easier to program :o

--------------------
MMORPG developed by jagex ltd. Join RuneScape.com today!

hawk kings editor edited by me for geneforge 2
http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=16&t=000906#00 0000
Posts: 91 | Registered: Monday, October 3 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #9
You don't need to download the source code. That's only if you want to modify the editor itself.

Here, just use this link for Mac or this link for Windows.

Oh, and the only reason Geneforge is easier is that you can't edit terrain at all in Geneforge, which is exactly what the BoA editor allows you to do in BoA.

[ Saturday, January 28, 2006 14:56: Message edited by: Thuryl ]

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00
Councilor
Member # 6600
Profile Homepage #10
Thuryl, the links aren't working correctly.

green kid, if you use Windows XP or higher, follow these steps. You need an unzip program (like WinZip) to unzip the 3D editor.

1. Go back to the BoA Editor forum main screen.
2. Click on the link BoA Editor Remake.
3. Click on the link the Sourceforge page at the bottom of the page.
4. Click on the green rectangle that says Download BoA Editor Remake
5. Click on the bottom green rectangle that says Download. That is, check to make sure that you are downloading the version of the 3D editor that is for Windows.
6. Click on the link Win3DRelease.zip Not the Win3DReleaseSource.zip, the other one.
7. Click on any download link That is, the word that says download.
8. If the download doesn't start automatically, click on the long link at the top of the page where it tells you to in order to start the download.
9. From here, it's all your computer. You'll probably get your unzip program asking you about the 3D Editor. Tell it to open and unzip the file.
10. Move the whole Win3DRelease folder to wherever you can find it easily.
11. Open the Win3DRelease folder.
12. Open the Win3D read-me. Read it. Read it again if you didn't get it all the first time.
13. Follow the instructions under the "Install" section in the read-me.
14. Open the BoAEditor.

Dikiyoba.
Posts: 4346 | Registered: Friday, December 23 2005 08:00
Agent
Member # 5814
Profile #11
Thuryl's links are files, not web pages. Click "save as" on Windows to use them. I don't know or care how Mac users do it.

--------------------
quote:
Originally written by Kelandon
Well, I'm at least pretty

Posts: 1115 | Registered: Sunday, May 15 2005 07:00
Warrior
Member # 6368
Profile Homepage #12
w00t! thanks :D

--------------------
MMORPG developed by jagex ltd. Join RuneScape.com today!

hawk kings editor edited by me for geneforge 2
http://www.ironycentral.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=16&t=000906#00 0000
Posts: 91 | Registered: Monday, October 3 2005 07:00
...b10010b...
Member # 869
Profile Homepage #13
quote:
Originally written by Dikiyoba:

Thuryl, the links aren't working correctly.
Guh. Looks like the download mirrors don't allow direct linking to downloadable files. I was afraid of that.

Well, fortunately, it seems that our friend has successfully downloaded a copy of the editor anyway.

--------------------
The Empire Always Loses: This Time For Sure!
Posts: 9973 | Registered: Saturday, March 30 2002 08:00