Please Check this Dlg Script

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Please Check this Dlg Script
Warrior
Member # 1250
Profile #0
I'm going nuts trying to catch my mistake, here. I tried to script all the dialogue for one character in one fell swoop, and now I can't figure out where the error is. BoA gives me error message "Invalid character in" what, upon checking, is the very last line. (That reminds me, can anybody tell me how BoA numbers the lines in the text? The lines seem to be very high numbers, compared to the total document length) I 've gone over the whole thing, looking for parts where I maybe punched the wrong key, to no avail. Here's an abbreviated version of my code:

begintalknode 22;
state = -1;
personality = 10;
nextstate = 7;
question = "Ssev";
text1 = "Text.";
text2 = "_Character talking._";
text5 = "Text.";
action = INTRO;

begintalknode 23;
state = 7;
personality = 10;
nextstate = -1;
condition = get_flag(0,3) == 0;
question = "Text.";

begintalknode 24;
state = 7;
personality = 10;
nextstate = -1;
condition = get_flag(0,3) > 0;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "_Dialogue._";
text2 = "More dialogue!";
text3 = "_Yet more dialogue._";

begintalknode 25;
state = 7;
personality = 10;
nextstate = 8;
condition = get_flag(0,3) > 0;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "_Dialogue._";
text2 = "_More dialogue._";

begintalknode 26;
state = 8;
personality = 10;
nextstate = -1;
question = "Question?";
` text1 = "_Dialogue._";
text2 = "_La-dee-da_...";
text3 = "More dialogue.";

begintalknode 27;
state = 8;
personality = 10;
nextstate = -1;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "Dialogue.";

begintalknode 28;
state = 7;
personality = 10;
nextstate = 9;
condition = get_flag(0,3) > 0;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "_Dialogue._";

begintalknode 29;
state = 9;
personality = 10;
nextstate = 10;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "Dialogue.";

begintalknode 30;
state = 10;
personality = 10;
nextstate = -1;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "_Dialogue._";
text2 = "_Dialogue._";

begintalknode 31;
state = 10;
personality = 10;
nextstate = -1;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "_Dialogue._";
text2 = "_More Dialogue._";
text3 = "_Dialogue again._";

begintalknode 32;
state = 10;
personality = 10;
nextstate = -1;
question = "Question?";
text1 = "_Dialogue._";

In abbrieviating this for posting, I tried my best not to modify anything outside of the quotation marks at the ends of each line of question/dialogue piece.
Posts: 93 | Registered: Saturday, June 1 2002 07:00
Apprentice
Member # 3361
Profile #1
There is no text in node 23; that could be a problem. I assume the quote mark on node 26 is not in your actual code. I didn't quite see anything aside from that, but I could be overlooking something.
Posts: 21 | Registered: Sunday, August 17 2003 07:00
Agent
Member # 2820
Profile #2
The single quote on that line would cause an error if it was in your script. BoA line numbers only work correctly in the older versions with Macs. I believe Avernum counts a \r (a line delimiter in Macs) as a line, but in Windows the line separator is \r\n, so it counts that twice. Divide your line number by 2 and that should be around the line you should be looking at.

--------------------
Thuryl: I mean, most of us don't go around consuming our own bodily fluids, no matter how delicious they are.
====
Alorael: War and violence would end if we all had each other's babies!
====
Drakefyre: Those are hideous mangos.
Posts: 1415 | Registered: Thursday, March 27 2003 08:00
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #3
From what I can tell, line numbers work fine with BBEdit Lite and TextWrangler for the Mac and EditPad Pro and Crimson Editor for the PC, as long as you're using the "Special Scenario Development Application" (from the Scenario Workshop). You can still screw them up a little bit (missing ending quotes, missing ending parentheses, etc.), but they are much, much closer this way.

Er, node 26 has a rather odd character right in front of text1. This is probably the source of your "Invalid character" error.

EDIT: Er, yes, what Kahless25 said. But it's a weird backwards quote, an un-caps tilde.

[ Monday, August 09, 2004 10:14: Message edited by: Kelandon ]

--------------------
Arancaytar: Every time you ask people to compare TM and Kel, you endanger the poor, fluffy kittens.
Smoo: Get ready to face the walls!
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!: the authorized location for all things by me
The Archive of all released BoE scenarios ever
Posts: 7968 | Registered: Saturday, February 28 2004 08:00
Agent
Member # 2820
Profile #4
T'is all about the \r\n, friends.

--------------------
Thuryl: I mean, most of us don't go around consuming our own bodily fluids, no matter how delicious they are.
====
Alorael: War and violence would end if we all had each other's babies!
====
Drakefyre: Those are hideous mangos.
Posts: 1415 | Registered: Thursday, March 27 2003 08:00
Warrior
Member # 1250
Profile #5
Fantastic! I was so wound up looking for missing quotation marks and semicolons at the end of lines that I missed that in the beginning. I must have hit that little key when I punched the TAB key to indent.

Thanks to everyone. I mean that!
Posts: 93 | Registered: Saturday, June 1 2002 07:00