Need Help Making Dialogue Work

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Need Help Making Dialogue Work
Warrior
Member # 1250
Profile #0
I am completely new to Blades of Avernum. I never had Blades of Exile, although I have a tiny amount of experience with C+, and I've wrapped my head around some of the simpler ideas of Avernumscript.

I'm working with the standard editor that I got from Spiderweb's site. I'm running a bunch of little tiny experiments editing the script for my experimental town, Expoville.

My first question is about dialogue. I have a super-limited town script (t2expoville.txt), with all the basic states, and I have the town dialogue script (t2expovilledlg.txt) which *seems* in order. Since I've already defined the name of the one character inhabiting my town (in my town script), what else do I need to put in the main town script to get the dialogue to work?

Apologies for being so generic. I suppose I ought to post my scripts... I'll do it after a reply or two.

[ Thursday, July 29, 2004 10:24: Message edited by: Guardian of Eternity ]
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #1
Hrm, lessee... set the memory cells in the appropriate character. If you're using basicnpc, which I'm assuming you are, then cell 3 is the one that you want to set, and you want to set it to the number of the first dialogue node that the character uses.

Erm, proper header for the dialogue script, which you can literally copy out of a script from the included games.

That's pretty much it. Then you try it and see if you get an error. If you do, then we can help you debug if you tell us exactly what the error message says, post the script around the line number of the error, and identify the line that BoA is complaining about.