Did I just hear that?!?

Error message

Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /var/www/pied-piper.ermarian.net/includes/common.inc).
AuthorTopic: Did I just hear that?!?
BoE Posse
Member # 112
Profile #0
As some people here are aware, I work as an announcer on a Christian radio station. One of the things we put to air is a little thing called "The Word for Today". It's basically a collection of little life lessons or two minute sermons. I don't like it at all, personally. It tends to be quite grating and patronising. But the other day, out comes this little gem.

quote:
Hymns. The word hymn comes from the word hymen, which is the tough membrane sealing the entrance to the womb. Hymns help you to break through the hard outer shell of flesh and into the place where God's comforting Spirit dwells.

That's a direct quote. Broke my brain utterly.

Click to see this in "context".

[ Friday, January 07, 2005 15:10: Message edited by: The Creator ]

--------------------
Rate my scenarios!

Areni
Revenge
To Live in Fear
Deadly Goblins
Ugantan Nightmare
Isle of Boredom
Bob's Big Date
Member # 3151
Profile Homepage #1
I find it interesting you believe religion should be utterly comprehensive and yet are discomfited by the presence of lady parts.

Sounds like an urban legend to me, but still...

--------------------
The biggest, the baddest, and the fattest.
Off With Their Heads
Member # 4045
Profile Homepage #2
I was curious, so I checked the OED, and it appears that this etymology is wrong, but possibly not as wrong as one might think.